Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
joseggarza
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:55 pm

Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by joseggarza » Tue Jul 05, 2022 11:43 pm

Quick question,

What are the requirements for the Android barcode scanner to work?

I made an app and is working OK with my phone, but when I try to use it in an Amazon Fire HD 10 (2021, 11th gen) (Android 9, API Level 28) the Widget does not work.

I installed the following apps:

Google Play Services
Google Play Store
Google Assistant
Google Photos
Google Calendar
Google chrome
Google Docs
Google Drive
Google Gboard
Google Gmail
Google Lens
Google Maps
Google Meet
Google Photos
Google Sheet

I just don't know what else to install to make it work.....

any ideas?


Thanks in advance...

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by jacque » Wed Jul 06, 2022 6:00 pm

I did a quick search and it sounds like not all Fire tablets can read QR or barcodes.

https://www.amazonforum.com/s/question/ ... th-qr-code

If it works on your phone it will probably work on any device that has a good enough camera.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

joseggarza
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:55 pm

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by joseggarza » Wed Jul 06, 2022 8:00 pm

Hi Jacque,

thanks for your reply, I really don't think that is the problem because I was able to download three other apps from the app store and they work just fine. I agree, the camera is not the best, but the apps that I got work ok on this tablet.

JG

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by jacque » Wed Jul 06, 2022 8:05 pm

Okay, sorry I don't know any more about it so I'm not much help. You could submit a bug report and that might give you an answer even if it doesn't get fixed.

https://quality.livecode.com
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

joseggarza
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:55 pm

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by joseggarza » Thu Jul 07, 2022 5:07 pm

Hi Jacque,

Thanks for Your Advice, and your quick response. I don't want to submit this to Quality. I don't think is a bug, but more of a library missing on the amazon table.

I am getting False for the isOperational propery. I was wondering what is that this widget checks in order to return true on isOperational.

JG

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by jacque » Thu Jul 07, 2022 8:37 pm

I did some more poking around. I see lots of hits for reading QR codes but almost none for barcodes. The Readerware site has a barcode reader app for Fire tablets, but states:
The ZXing Barcode App requires an auto-focus camera to scan linear barcodes. Not all Fire tablets include this kind of camera, if you see the barcode on the screen but nothing happens, chances are your camera is not auto-focus.
https://www.readerware.com/index.php/kb ... ire_tablet

This site:https://www.amazonforum.com/s/question/ ... th-qr-code describes a similar problem with QR codes, and the answer is that cheaper Fire tablets don't have auto-focus cameras.
The recent low-cost models of the Fire apparently lack auto-focus on their cameras, which seems to create an issue with scanning visual codes. Some of the older Fire models had higher quality cameras (and the units themselves were also more expensive when originally sold).
Something fuzzy in my memory recognizes "ZXing" and that may be what LC uses to read barcodes. ZXing is an open-source library so it makes sense that LC would use it, and that library requires an auto-focus camera. The apps you've tested from the Play Store may use a different library that can manage focus independently.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by jacque » Thu Jul 07, 2022 8:45 pm

BTW, I have several different Android devices including a couple of tablets (Huawei and Samsung.) If you want to create a simple apk and a link to a typical barcode you're using, I can let you know if it works on my devices. If so, then the problem is likely related to the Fire tablet only.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

joseggarza
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:55 pm

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by joseggarza » Fri Jul 08, 2022 3:25 pm

Jacque,

Thanks a lot for you time. I really appreciate it. Let me give you an update of what I've been doing.

I can confirm that this tablet has a No Auto Focus Camera. I installed the Zxing Barcode Scanner app and it works OK. I had some problems with the Camera because of the autofocus and I had to do the focus manually but it read the Barcode at the end....

Now, I think our LC Android Barcode Widget is based on googles [url]https://developers.google.com/ml-kit[url] and that is were the problem relies.

I found a very nice app by Novum Logic called ML Kit (is a demo app showcasing for this google ML KIT) that you can find on google play and it does not work on this amazon tablet.

So, I have very few option,
1. Find out what is missing on this tablet to make the ML Kit Operational(learn about the ML Kit Requirements, and make sure I can Include them on my app)
2. Retake Java language(which I hate it) and see I can make use of the Zxing Library to make a Non Android Barcode Widget (which will take me a long time)
3. Trash this New Device(I paid close to $200) and find a better one(but at the same time I don't know if the new one will work)

And to tell you the truth, I hate to say it, but I think I will be forced to do option 3.

ooooh well, Thanks again for your time....

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by jacque » Fri Jul 08, 2022 5:49 pm

Is the app just for you or are you planning to distribute it? It isn't at all unusual to require certain hardware for an app, and I think the Play Store lets you specify that. Your app will very likely run on almost any modern phone or tablet.

If the app is just for you, you've still got a workable phone.

If you do want to get a different device and aren't familiar with https://backmarket.com, take a look. I've purched 3 devices there at considerable discounts and each one has arrived looking new and worked flawlessly. There's a 1-year warranty on every purchase. They may take your Fire tablet as a trade in but I'm not sure how that works.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

joseggarza
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:55 pm

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by joseggarza » Fri Jul 08, 2022 6:10 pm

oooh WOW...

That is a nice website.... Thanks.. I think I will get all my toys from there!!!

by any chance do you know a place or book where I can get some information about how to use LC with java FFI ?

I really would like to spend some time on learning LC FFI, but I can't find much info about it...

JG

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android barcode scanner widget Requirements

Post by jacque » Fri Jul 08, 2022 7:51 pm

I think I will get all my toys from there!!!
Yeah, that's how I felt after I got my first purchase. I chose a "good" quality device and I could swear it looked like new. It made me wonder what an "excellent" one would be.

I'm afraid I don't know much about FFI but hopefully someone else can chime in here.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”