9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by richmond62 » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:08 pm

If, with LC 9.5.1 RC-1 running on Kubuntu 18.04 (64-bit) I have an open stack
and type:

Code: Select all

import snapshot
(which is, admittedly silly)

The whole computer, bar the ability to move the mouse pointer around, locks up,
and the only way to get things going again seems to be with a reboot.

As I am away from my other machines (Macintosh and other Linux flavours) until Monday
I am unable to determine if this happens elsewhere.

If users running LC 9.5.1 RC-1 on other systems could give that "a go" . . .

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8418
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: 9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:28 pm

This is a known issue going back several versions. Mark Wieder recently submitted a pull request to fix it, but it was submitted too late for this build.

A workaround for this form of "import snapshot" was recently posted either in these forums or on the use-livecode list to tide folks over until the pull request is tested and included.

And FWIW, I believe all other forms of "import snapshot" continue to work well, including the recent addition of the "at size" clause to make thumbnails.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: 9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by richmond62 » Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:19 pm

The whole thing is silly; but my trigger finger slipped (honest, officer) when
I was halfway through typing

Code: Select all

import screenshot from fld "myText"
and, Yes, all the other screenshot stuff works just fine. :D

What you need to ask yourself, very carefully is this;
"Would Richmond have been happy had he not found something to criticise?" 8)

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: 9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by mwieder » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:36 am

LOL.

At any rate, you *should* be able to get by without a reboot. This mostly works for me when it locks up:

press control-F6
that will give you a full-screen terminal prompt
log in with your usual name/password combo
type ps ax | grep livecode
the first line will be your hung process
type kill -9 processID
where processID is the process id of the hung process
type control-F7 to return to your linux desktop

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: 9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by richmond62 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:47 am

LOL
This mostly works for me when it locks up
Well, unless I print that out, laminate it in plastic and glue it to the wall
I am not sure how on earth I'm going to remember that when the time
comes. 8)

Also, to be quite frank, I am getting fed up with the whole KDE thing and
am probably going to install XFCE ontop of the existing system (as blanking
and installing Xubuntu and then making it the way I like it is just toooooooo
much of a %$#@&).

bogs
Posts: 5098
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: 9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:38 am

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:47 am
blanking
and installing Xubuntu and then making it the way I like it is just toooooooo
much of a %$#@&
Well, if your talking about the way you set up the desktop / look / opacity / etc, in XFCE you can actually back those settings up and restore them in any XFCE environment (the other desktops have similar functionality), either in whole or in parts.

https://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-li ... ngs-linux/

I usually just go with the whole solution as the quickest method, but certainly doing it in parts isn't all that time consuming either and, as long as your preferences don't change, it could literally be a "one time process", where you only need to copy it back on a fresh install.

*Edit - that linked article uses the CLI to do all this, however, if you have an aversion to the CLI, you can do it all through the folder manager just by going to the locations and copying those into a master folder on your desktop, for instance, named something like "My _settings_backup _for_XFCE", or whatever floats your boat :wink:

*Edit 2 - I *don't* usually install one of the 'buntu variety, but, on those occasions where I *have* to use it (in a vm), I always go with the minimal install version, and then install the desktop with the minimal install version. I already know what applications I like best, I don't need someone else's list of junk installed first.
Even in this stripped down setup, the backed up config works well, just make sure (as the article points out) that if you have special icons and themes that they are part of your backup.
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: 9.5.1 RC-1 Import snapshot

Post by mwieder » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:22 pm

Richmond-

With the ways I can get LC to lock up the computer this key sequence becomes muscle memory after a while.

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”