No longer able to build standalone for iOS since upgrade

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
rcmills
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:27 pm

No longer able to build standalone for iOS since upgrade

Post by rcmills » Thu Oct 01, 2020 8:23 pm

I recently upgraded to Catalina MacOSX, and to LC 9.6.1. I installed Xcode 11.5 to get SDK 13.5, which this version of LC demands, but I am getting an error message (failed to create launch screen: xcrun: error: invalid active developer path) when trying standalone build for iOS. The message goes on to give the path (/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools) and says xcrun is missing at: /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/xcrun.

I read some other threads suggesting reverting to Xcode 11.4, but I get the same message after doing so.

I have also tried the terminal command (sudo xcode-select -- install) suggested in another thread, but I get a message that the software can't be downloaded because it is not currently available from the Software Update server.

Is there something I am missing? Can anyone help me?

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: No longer able to build standalone for iOS since upgrade

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Oct 02, 2020 2:51 pm

Hello rcmills,

You probably need to tell Xcode where to look for the command line tools (which include xcrun). To do that:

- Quit LC
- Open a terminal and type:

Code: Select all

sudo xcode-select -s path/to/xcode11.5.app
So for example if you have installed Xcode11.5 in your Applications folder, the above command will be:

Code: Select all

sudo xcode-select -s /Applications/Xcode.app
- Reopen LC and build an iOS standalone - this should work now

Kind regards,
Panos
--

rcmills
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: No longer able to build standalone for iOS since upgrade

Post by rcmills » Fri Oct 02, 2020 9:38 pm

Thanks, Panos!

That worked!

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”