UI controls on iOS / MS-DOS?

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

AlexP

UI controls on iOS / MS-DOS?

Post by AlexP » Sat Sep 19, 2020 11:54 am

Hi :)

As I'm new to this tool, so I have a general question concerning the UI on iOS:

My test app has some labels and edit boxes and dropdown-controls. they all look like on MS-DOS in in year 1989.

Is this meant to be like this or do I need to switch on 2020 -mode? :shock:

Thanks,
Alex

AlexP

Re: UI controls on iOS / MS-DOS?

Post by AlexP » Sat Sep 19, 2020 11:57 am

And here is the screenshot .. really cool stuff :D

Klaus

Post by Klaus » Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:12 pm

Hi Alex,

the link does not work, resp. I don't see any image.
Simply because the URL is NOT the direct url of the image, but the URL of an
image hoster where you uploaded the image to! 8)
Is this meant to be like this or do I need to switch on 2020 -mode?
Yes, it is meant to be like this, no "look as cool as iOS" switch available.

Unfortunately on mobile the "lookandfeel" is set to the ugly UNIX appearance -> MOTIF.
In other words, you need to create your own appearance on mobile to make it look good.
It may suffice to remove the 3D from the fields and set the background to white.

Best

Klaus

P.S.
There is also a german LC forum but with much less traffic than this here:
https://www.livecode-blog.de/forums/for ... ode-forum/

AlexP

Post by AlexP » Sat Sep 19, 2020 1:50 pm

Thanks again for your help.

A mobile development tool that canot create apps that look like apps look like in 2020 - that makes sense .. :D

I think, we will continue to work with xcode and c language ..

SparkOut

Post by SparkOut » Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:36 pm

For mobile development, LiveCode can apply a basic theme ("motif") to standard IDE controls - which is what your results demonstrate.