Exporting text from LiveCode in iOS

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

mismel8

Exporting text from LiveCode in iOS

Post by mismel8 » Wed May 27, 2020 9:46 pm

Hi everyone. I am new to iOS development, and am trying to figure out the best way to export text from Livecode. I learned on the forums that automatically copying to the clipboard is not an option in iOS, so I'm looking for a solution.

Here is what I need to do:
A student completes a task on their iPad, and my program creates a text-based report that the student needs to get to me anonymously (I am doing research with students, so it needs to be anonymous, hence email won't work). My plan was to create a button to "Share Data" which would then copy the text and send students to a web form where they would paste and submit their data.

I read through the LiveCode documentation and I have no understanding of Native Fields, but that seems to be the only way to copy and paste in iOS (and it seems that I can't copy the text automatically, so it's not ideal). Before trying to learn how to use a native field, I figured I would ask here 1) whether this would allow me to at least have the students select all, then copy the text and 2) whether this is the best way to do what I need (my web form can also accept file uploads, if that matters).

Thanks!
Last edited by mismel8 on Thu May 28, 2020 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Exporting text from LiveCode

Post by richmond62 » Thu May 28, 2020 9:43 am

I'm unclear if you wish to export a text document, or copy text from a field to paste elsewhere.

SparkOut

Post by SparkOut » Thu May 28, 2020 10:11 am