Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by KimD » Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:32 am

Post Subtitle - "Why does Apple hate me?"

I'm trying to load my app to App Store Connect following these two lessons:
- http://lessons.livecode.com/m/4069/l/33 ... es-connect
- http://lessons.livecode.com/m/4069/l/33 ... -app-store

On both lessons, I'm stuck on the Application Loader step. When I push "Deliver Your App", I get the following error - No suitable application records were found. Verify your bundle identifier XYZ is correct.

My setup is:

Developer.apple.com > Profiles > Generate a provisioning profile
* Name = "myIOSDistributionProfile"
* App ID = "desc1 desc2 desc3 (123456789.com.myorg.myapp)". Where 123456789 = the Team ID assigned by apple to my developer account.

Developer.apple.com > Identifiers > Edit your App ID Configuration
* App ID Prefix = "123456789 (Team ID)"
* Description = "desc1 desc2 desc3".
* Bundle ID = "com.myorg.myapp (explicit)".

App Store Connect > Myapp > App Information
* Bundle ID = "desc1 desc2 desc3 - com.myorg.myapp".
* Your Bundle ID = "com.myorg.myapp"

LC > IOS Standalone Setting
* Internal App ID = "com.myorg.myapp"
* Profile = "myIOSDistributionProfile"

Application Loader error message > Bundle ID = "com.myorg.myapp.desc1-desc2-desc3".

So, lots of slight discrepancies in there, including:
- sometimes the App ID / Bundle ID includes the Team ID, sometimes it doesn't
- sometimes the App ID / Bundle ID includes blank spaces, sometimes it includes dashes
- sometimes the App ID / Bundle ID has the description before com.myorg.myapp, sometimes it is after
- "(explicit)". I've got no idea where that came from.

Have I made a mistake with my profile / identifier set up, or does Apple just represent the same info in slightly different ways in different places?

I also note that both lessons state "Waiting for Upload has to be set in iTunes Connect before you can upload an application". Within iTunes connect I'm stuck at "Prepare for submission", I can't get to "Waiting for Upload" I have got access to a "submit for review" button, but if I press this then Apple tells me that I haven't uploaded a build; which I haven't, because I can't.

Is it still necessary to get to Waiting for Upload status on iTunes connect, or has Apple changed how the upload process works?

Any advice on how to move out of the swamp that is the "submit to IOS App Store" experience would be much appreciated ;-)

Kim

KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by KimD » Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:42 am

Solved it

A week earlier I'd customized the apps Plist (to allow it to open particular document types).

I must have subsequently decided I wanted to use a different app ID / bundle ID. So:
- the app store, and LC standalone settings, and distribution profile; had the more recent app ID / bundle ID
- but the Plist contained in the app had the older app ID / bundle ID.

DANG!

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by simon.schvartzman » Sun Mar 22, 2020 9:59 pm

Hi KimD, or anyone else willing to help!

I guess I landed in the same situation due to wrong tampering with my plist settings ...DOH!

Problem is that I don't know how to fix it, help please!

So far I have:
- tried different options of my Profile on the Standalone Settings
- downloaded/installed a fresh version of LC 9.5.1

What else can/should I do?

Many thanks and stay safe!
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by KimD » Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:10 pm

Hi Simon

Sorry, but I only have the vaguest recollection of this issue now. From what I can remember, for me the problem was caused by me having a mis-match between:
1) developer.apple.com website > Certificates, Identifiers & Profiles > Identifiers > Register an App ID - I'd pay particular attention to the Bundle ID that is defined here; and
2) LC > Standalone app settings > iOS > Basic Settings - I'd pay articular attention to the Internal App ID that is defined here.

Good luck

Kim

KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by KimD » Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:16 pm

Another thing that I do - I start by uploading to Apple a version of my app without a custom Plist. Only after I've got that working do I try uploading the version with the custom Plist.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7227
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by jacque » Mon Mar 23, 2020 5:55 pm

You might also want to download and try Apple's Transporter app which has replaced Application Loader. You can find it in the Mac App Store. I think this solved a few issues for some people.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by simon.schvartzman » Mon Mar 23, 2020 7:17 pm

Jacque you always have very useful answers, many thanks for your contributions...

Guess what? Transporter failed as well but at least showed why:
ERROR ITMS-90339: "This bundle is invalid. The Info.plist contains an invalid key 'UIApplicationExitsOnSuspend' in bundle LuckroSpot [LuckroSpot.app]"

WARNING ITMS-90725: "SDK Version Issue. This app was built with the iOS 12.1 SDK. Starting April 2020, all iOS apps submitted to the App Store must be built with the iOS 13 SDK or later, included in Xcode 11 or later."
So now is a matter of fixing ERROR ITMS-90339 and I guess I saw some posts about how to do it!

Will report back shortly
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by simon.schvartzman » Mon Mar 23, 2020 7:31 pm

So, I fixed the pList as instructed (by myself) in another post on a similar subject https://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.p ... 39#p187239 and I was able to upload.

Many thanks to all...

Stay safe and keep hitting the keyboard!
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7227
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Application Loader - "No suitable application records were found"

Post by jacque » Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:53 pm

Oh that. Right. If the app is compatible, LC 9.6dp3 has removed that info.plist key so you don't need to update the plist yourself.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”