Problems with Drawer Menu

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
karimariesk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:44 am

Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by karimariesk » Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:20 am

Hello! I'm new to livecode, im trying to call a stack to act as a drawer menu for other stack. i do this with:

Code: Select all

 drawer stack "DrawerMenu" at left of stack "Eventos" aligned to left
that line is inside a swipe detector.
that works perfectly, but i have an issue. i want part of the backgroud stack to be shown, but have no idea how.
thanks in advance!

Klaus
Posts: 13777
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by Klaus » Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:11 am

Hi karimariesk,

1. welcome to the forum! :D

2. This is the iOS forum, are you takling about an iOS app/stack?
I ask because:
a. the "drawer" command is actually only available on desktop machines
and only on a Mac they display REAL drawers, on Win and Linux the target
stacks will be opened as PALETTE windows.
b. on mobile there can only be ONE stack open/visible at a time.

So I'm a bit puzzled! :shock:


Best

Klaus

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by Simon » Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:33 pm

This sounds like;
http://forums.livecode.com/phpBB2/viewt ... 082#p92082
nice sliding panels.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

karimariesk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:44 am

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by karimariesk » Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:08 am

Hi! thanks for the reply. Yes it's for IOS. so i cant use the drawer command? didnt know that.
The link seems promising! i'll try it been fighting with this for 2-3 days already :P

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by Simon » Fri Jul 08, 2016 5:47 am

Hi Kari,
In the dictionary it always notes which platform each command works for.

Drawer
Platforms desktop, server, web

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Klaus
Posts: 13777
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by Klaus » Fri Jul 08, 2016 10:29 am

karimariesk wrote:i'll try it been fighting with this for 2-3 days already :P
No comment! 8)

What Simon said, the dictionary is not your enemy, au contraire, mon ami! :D

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:44 pm

Hi all,

Just to add that drawer stacks on OS X are not supported since we moved to Cocoa (in LiveCode 6.7.0). In other words, the "drawer" command will work only with LiveCode versions < 6.7.0

Best,
Panos
--

Klaus
Posts: 13777
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by Klaus » Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:39 pm

AHA! So "drawers" are a Carbon thing!?
Didn't know that, thank you!

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9793
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Jul 08, 2016 7:08 pm

I think Apple deprecated Drawers about the time they dropped Metal backgrounds, but I can't recall which version that was.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9230
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by richmond62 » Fri Feb 02, 2024 2:40 pm

Indeed: But LiveCode left the information in the Dictionary so we could waste a lot of time chasing a phantom.

Klaus
Posts: 13777
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by Klaus » Fri Feb 02, 2024 3:03 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2024 2:40 pm
Indeed: But LiveCode left the information in the Dictionary so we could waste a lot of time chasing a phantom.
Did you report that bug? 8)

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9230
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by richmond62 » Fri Feb 02, 2024 5:43 pm

No, because someone asked me to explain it to them for the first time today: I have never used it.

In fact it is not a bug, it has got to do with when Apple started using Cocoa.

LiveCode should have either removed 'drawer' from the Dictionary, or flagged as only working on versions before 6.7.0.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9230
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by richmond62 » Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:07 pm

What is very interesting is the claim:
Just to add that drawer stacks on OS X are not supported since we moved to Cocoa (in LiveCode 6.7.0). In other words, the "drawer" command will work only with LiveCode versions < 6.7.0
which does not explain why LiveCode cannot do this on Xubuntu 23.10 despite the Dictionary's claim that this is a cross-platform feature.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9793
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Problems with Drawer Menu

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Feb 03, 2024 3:07 am

richmond62 wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:07 pm
What is very interesting is the claim:
Just to add that drawer stacks on OS X are not supported since we moved to Cocoa (in LiveCode 6.7.0). In other words, the "drawer" command will work only with LiveCode versions < 6.7.0
which does not explain why LiveCode cannot do this on Xubuntu 23.10 despite the Dictionary's claim that this is a cross-platform feature.
The syntax is handed on each platform in a way that conforms to the user interface expectations of that platform.

From the Dictionary entry:
Cross-platform note: On Mac OS, Unix, and Windows systems, drawers are not supported, so the drawer command opens the stack as a palette instead. The palette uses the current rectangle of the stack and does not resize or move it.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”