Calculated Variables and Chart Positioning

Get help and support using chartsEngine for LiveCode.

Moderators: heatherlaine, BvG

andrew99

Calculated Variables and Chart Positioning

Post by andrew99 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:17 pm

Hello,

I'm new to revolution and working with ChartsEngine (which looks great!). I'm trying to display a chart (stacked line) based on a bunch of calculated variables and i'm a bit confused. Hopeing someone might be able to help.

Is there a worked example that might be able to be published to show how I get a half dozen or so calculated variables into 'tdata' and specify an onscreen location for the chart (ideally I'd like it to appear within a tabbed button - note the tabed button only fills the lower half of my window). Should the selected tab change I need the chart to hide, and / or the calculated variables change (using the Compute function) I need the chart to refresh.

Sorry if that sounds rather confusing but I'm lost and would appreciate any help.

Many thanks

malte

Post by malte » Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:35 pm

Hi Andrew,

what you want should be pretty straightforward. :)

If you create the chart from scratch, you are able to specify a rectangle in which it should be rendered in.

chartsCreateChart "testchart",20,40,320,440

the first Parameter is the name of the chart being created, the following parameters are left location, measured from the left of the card, top location, measured from top of card, right location, measured from left of the card and bottom location, measured from top of the card.

If you want to refresh an existing chart, but want to change the dimensions, you can set the width and height of the group control that contains the chart. An example could look like this:

Code: Select all

local tOldTopLeft
-- remember the original topLeft of the chart
put the topLeft of grp "myChart" into tOldTopLeft
set the width of grp "myChart" to 500
set the height of grp "myChart" to 370