IDE In LC Ver 9

Want to move your code and projects to LiveCode but don't know where to start?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller

gagsoft
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:56 pm

IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by gagsoft » Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:16 pm

I am finding it difficult to get my head around using the script editor in version 9 IDE.
After adding an object such as a button LiveCode puts crop marks on the object and one can right click to edit the object's script. But I am unable to edit the scripts of the existing objects on the stack. I noticed that one can get to the code editor by clicking the Code button on the Button bar. How does this differ from Version 8 were one has to right click on the object to get to the code editor.

bogs
Posts: 4619
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by bogs » Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:21 pm

Which Os are you using? I wasn't able to generate a problem getting to the script editor on Windows 7 testing out your question, every thing worked as it has in the past far as I could tell.

Also, you don't have to right click on anything if you don't want to. Among the (many) ways to get to the script editor once the object you want to code is selected, you can -
* right click / edit script
* click on the blue bubble next to the object in the project browser
* click on the 'Code' button on the menu bar
* click on the 'Object' menu / object script on the menubar

and many more I can't think of off the top of my head.
Image

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7652
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Jul 20, 2019 7:39 pm

If you can select some objects but not others it sounds like the others may have their cantSelect property set to true.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

gagsoft
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by gagsoft » Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:57 pm

Hi Bogs
I am using LC 9.5.0 on a Mac with macOS Mojave 10.14.5.
I am used to the right click / edit script method and stil use it in Lc 8.
Using the code button on the button bar is also abit of an ussue because I am unable to select the object.
This is weird. Do you think it might be the operating system?
I will try it on a Windows 10 box and see if I can reproduce this behaviour.
Thank you for you help.

bogs
Posts: 4619
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by bogs » Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:03 pm

Well, unfortunately, you have the one particular combo of OS + IDE I can't duplicate heh, but I *really* doubt it is the OS. The version of Lc I tested was 9.0.2, but perhaps you have found a bug in the newest Developers Preview, which is what 9.5.0 is. Basically you are talking about beta level software, and it is expected that you will find issues there.
downloads.livecode.com wrote:DP - Short for "Developer Preview", these releases are not feature complete and are likely to contain bugs. They have been made public to allow LiveCode developers to experiment with the latest features and give feedback to the team. Users who find bugs can file them at https://quality.livecode.com.
I'd suggest droping back to the last Stable version, which as of this posting is 9.0.4., and see if your still having the same issues.
Image

gagsoft
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by gagsoft » Sun Jul 21, 2019 9:35 am

Many thanks
I Tested it on a Windows 10 box and could not duplicate the behaviour.
It looks as if I have to drop back to a previous version as you suggested.

Many thanks

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7652
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by FourthWorld » Sun Jul 21, 2019 4:27 pm

I would be interested in seeing if we can determine the root cause of this. If your project can be shared, or you have any example stack file exhibiting the issue, I would welcome the chance to investigate it.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

gagsoft
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by gagsoft » Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:36 pm

Hi bogs, Fourthworld
After copying my plugins into my LiveCodeb on the Windows 10 Box, it started with the same issue not being able into the code editor. so I removed all plugins and voila, everything went back to normal. So I added my plugins one by one and found that the LC stackbrowser plugin is causing this issue. so now I am glad to have found origin of the issue but sad that I cannot use the stack browser again.
My apologies for causing unnecessary concern,
Thanks all for the inputs. :D

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6624
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by dunbarx » Mon Jul 22, 2019 2:42 pm

Hi.

Where does one find the "Stack Browser" plug in? Is it an embedded LC product?

Craig

bogs
Posts: 4619
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by bogs » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:56 pm

Glad you found the problem. I hope you report the issue to the appropriate party (I also never heard of the "stack browser" plugin).
Image

wsamples
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 4:12 am

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by wsamples » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:38 pm


bogs
Posts: 4619
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by bogs » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:56 pm

AHHHhhhhhhh... I do actually seem to remember having come across that once previously. Thanks for the link, wsamples!
Image

gagsoft
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by gagsoft » Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:06 pm

Hi Dunbarx
My apologies for only responding now. The livecode Stack browser can be found here: http://www.lcsql.com
I found actually it to be a usefull tool.

gagsoft
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by gagsoft » Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:10 pm

Hi guys
I still have issues with the LC 9.5 script editor on the Windows 10 box.
It crashes out of the editor when pressing the ENTER key.
Removed plugins that was left with the same result.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5350
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: IDE In LC Ver 9

Post by jacque » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:33 pm

Are you using red dot breakpoints? There's a known crasher if you are. The workaround for now is to use the word "breakpoint" instead of setting a dot. The problem occurs most frequently on Mac but may be related to your issue.

If you aren't debugging when it happens then it's something else.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Converting to LiveCode”