animation engine on livecode 10 error

Create fast, sprite powered games with Animation Engine, co-developed with DerBrill Software!

Moderators: heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller, malte

Post Reply
rjd
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 11:29 am

animation engine on livecode 10 error

Post by rjd » Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:17 pm

Anyone else encounter an error trying to use AE6 on Livecode ver 10? I get an error saying that it requires Livecode engine 5 and above. Any fix?

Klaus
Posts: 13793
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: animation engine on livecode 10 error

Post by Klaus » Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:24 pm

Hi rjd,

since AE 6 is public domain, this is easy to fix.
1. Open the stack
2. Open the stackscript
3. Look for the handler -> on librarystack
4. Comment these lines out:

Code: Select all

on libraryStack
   if the short name of the target is not the short name of me then pass librarystack
   # if "dev" is in the environment and the version<5 then
   #   answer "Sorry, this version of animationEngine requires a Livecode 5.0 or higher engine."
   #  stop using me
   #   exit librarystack
   # end if
   aeResetFrameRate
end libraryStack
5. Close the script and save the stack
DONE!

SparkOut
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: animation engine on livecode 10 error

Post by SparkOut » Fri Jun 24, 2022 7:23 pm

Klaus wrote:
Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:24 pm
Hi rjd,

since AE 6 is public domain
Is it? I thought Malte dual-licensed it according to the version of LiveCode (commercial or community).
Is v 6 totally open source? And under what license terms?
Am I just confusing with v 5?

Klaus
Posts: 13793
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: animation engine on livecode 10 error

Post by Klaus » Fri Jun 24, 2022 7:45 pm

Hi SparkOut,

take a look here: https://github.com/derbrill/animationEngine


Best

Klaus

SparkOut
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: animation engine on livecode 10 error

Post by SparkOut » Sat Jun 25, 2022 8:18 am

That's handy, I never had any notification of the change.
Disconcertingly ot still reads "animationEngine is a dual licensed animation library for liveCode" at the very top of that page.

rjd
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 11:29 am

Re: animation engine on livecode 10 error

Post by rjd » Sat Jun 25, 2022 3:08 pm

Works great - thank you for the quick response!

Post Reply

Return to “Animation Engine”