Running LC on Mint

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

JackieBlue1970
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:28 pm
Location: Max Meadows, VA USA

Running LC on Mint

Post by JackieBlue1970 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:09 am

I was able to install Livecode . However, when I run the program, I just get a gray window with the tool box in front. The start center shows briefly when I first click it but then goes to the gray screen again. I can only get around it by hitting the "windows" key on my laptop. This doesn't let me use it, but I can access other parts of my system. Any ideas? Thanks.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8556
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:25 am

Let's start with the basics: Which LC version, which Mint version?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5620
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by richmond62 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:26 am

Why do I suspect that gray screen is the backdrop?

Try hitting Ctrl-M . . . the MessageBox should appear . . .

Mind you, when I did this:
-
Screenshot 2020-01-21 at 10.47.27.png
Screenshot 2020-01-21 at 10.47.27.png (17.4 KiB) Viewed 3602 times
-
LC 9.5.0
MacOS 10.15.3 beta 2

It didn't work. :?

bogs
Posts: 5262
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by bogs » Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:20 am

richmond62 wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:26 am
Why do I suspect that gray screen is the backdrop?
Probably for the same reason I suspect you are an intelligent and charming person :D

His description fits this BR id=17323 perfectly, and I actually arrived at a combination of steps to get rid of the backdrop. The message box won't resolve the problem on 'nix, either with hide backdrop or set backdrop to none, and that is if you can even use the message box when this happens.

1. Backdrop completely takes over the desktop, even covering the MATE top menu bar.
2. Only the tools palette stays above the backdrop and is accessible.
3. Neither the Start Center nor the menubar is able to be brought above the backdrop by any method I tried (alt + tab, and of course can't use the window buttons since you can't get to the menu bars top or bottom).
4. I used (alt + F2) to bring up the 'nix run dialog, this brings the above mentioned parts of the IDE above the backdrop for some reason.
5. I then tried to click on the 'View' menu, the menubar and start center immediately disappear below the backdrop, along with the run dialog.
6. Alt/tabbing to the run dialog brings back the other two stacks to the top.
7. At that point, you can left click on the view menu and, if you don't release the left click, you can drag down to turn off the backdrop.

Video of the steps in action - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W22n9lI ... e=youtu.be

As I posted in the BR, maybe the default setting for the backdrop should be put back to "OFF", having it on at launch is off putting even if you know how to get rid of it, I can't imagine it is doing much for a good first impression to new users, regardless of the OS they are using.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5620
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by richmond62 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:20 am

Ultimately this seems to come down to LiveCode central who set
up the backdrop to be visible as the default setting, when it should be the other way round.

JackieBlue1970
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:28 pm
Location: Max Meadows, VA USA

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by JackieBlue1970 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:47 pm

Bogs information solved the issue for me. Thank you. For the record, Richmond62 (I'm from RVA originally) I originally included the versions of both software. The forum software interpreted numbers as links for some reason so they were removed. I should have written out nineteen nine point two, et. Thanks everyone.

bogs
Posts: 5262
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by bogs » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:52 pm

The forum software interpreted numbers as links for some reason so they were removed.
4 more posts, and you won't have that problem anymore :D
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3240
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by mwieder » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:44 am

The pull request to change the backdrop default to 'off' has been in the queue for a while now.
That will solve the mint problem with cinnamon.
Unfortunately the MATE developers choose to ignore the suggestion to change window ordering. I'm hoping to grab someone's attention in a month or so and see if I can unravel the mystery.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8556
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:48 am

mwieder wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:44 am
Unfortunately the MATE developers choose to ignore the suggestion to change window ordering. I'm hoping to grab someone's attention in a month or so and see if I can unravel the mystery.
Fisticuffs at SCaLE? Cool.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3240
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by mwieder » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:55 am

I'm bringing my can of whoop-ass, but I'm hoping someone's just gonna say "...here's a better way to do that..."

bogs
Posts: 5262
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by bogs » Fri Jan 24, 2020 10:54 am

mwieder wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:44 am
That will solve the mint problem with cinnamon.
Mint problem with Cinnamon ?! The backdrop issue is far more wide ranging than that, far more.
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3240
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by mwieder » Fri Jan 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Dang keyboard must have a mind of its own... I swear I typed "the backdrop problem with cinnamon'.

At any rate, we're making the right call into the gdk to change window display ordering. It's just that the functions we're calling are documented as 'suggesting' the change to the desktop manager. Cinnamon honors the call, MATE doesn't. There may be some reason why the MATE developers did things that way: after all, the desktop manager is supposed to be in charge of managing the desktop, no? There don't appear to be any other calls to force the change, so our options are, in order:

1. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
2. (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
3. anything else :shock:

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8556
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:41 pm

Clearly option #2 is our path forward. ;)
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

bogs
Posts: 5262
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by bogs » Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:51 pm

Have you tried it on XFCE yet? While not nearly as maddening as MATE , in that you *can* turn the backdrop off relatively easily in XFCE, it is certainly no thrill ride to start up an IDE and see a black screen. The first time I saw that, I was thinking "...did this take my whole box down?" until I noticed the main bar was still showing.

Option #2 just about sums it up, after repeatedly running through option #1 many times over.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5620
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Running LC on Mint

Post by richmond62 » Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:55 pm

Having run RR/LC on XFCE for the last 16 years I can cheerfully state
that I have never had a problem with the backdrop getting in the way.

Post Reply

Return to “Linux”