Tool bar not moving

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

RoliPasion
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:35 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by RoliPasion » Sun Mar 01, 2020 4:40 pm

I found the solution for my problem.

I deleted the LC preference file. Now everything works fine.

aetaylorBUSBnWt
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:11 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by aetaylorBUSBnWt » Tue Nov 01, 2022 7:43 pm

Well on a Mac I have the STUPID TOOL BAR STUCK ON THE WRONG WINDOW TOO!
I have multiple monitors. Not sure how Livecode managed to stick the Toolbar on the monitor without the Menubar but it did.

I have turned off both of the Toolbar menu items, quit Livecode, restarted it a couple times.
So they are saving the window location in preferences and don't ever change it.

This is a definite bug that needs to be fixed.

Using version 9.6.8

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8013
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by richmond62 » Tue Nov 01, 2022 7:55 pm

SShot 2022-11-01 at 20.54.42.png
SShot 2022-11-01 at 20.54.42.png (16.46 KiB) Viewed 1042 times
-
Attachments
Positioner.livecode.zip
Stack.
(9.32 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

aetaylorBUSBnWt
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:11 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by aetaylorBUSBnWt » Tue Nov 01, 2022 7:58 pm

Anybody know where the Preferences file for LiveCode is stored on a Mac?
(or its name?)

They have a large number of files down there. I am not seeing anything where I could edit the file to get rid of the Toolbar window location so that it has to be rediscovered.

Klaus
Posts: 13192
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by Klaus » Tue Nov 01, 2022 8:07 pm

Find it here:
/YourUserName/Library/Preferences/RunRev/livecode7.rev

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8825
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by dunbarx » Tue Nov 01, 2022 8:46 pm

Hi.

I have multiple monitors, and have tools to relocate these things.

The main thing to know is that all of these are simply stacks. You can set the topLeft, say, which is what I do, for any occasion. The hard part is knowing what these stacks are named. But "the stacks" property solves that as well. You can glean the palette of interest from that list.

Craig

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6786
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by jacque » Wed Nov 02, 2022 4:29 pm

A quick way is to put this in the message box:

Code: Select all

set the topleft of the mousestack to 200,200 
Don't hit return yet. Hover the mouse over the tool palette. Now hit the return key.

The coordinates are arbitrary, use anything that fits your main monitor. The tools palette should pop over to the main monitor and you can drag it where you want it.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

stam
Posts: 1704
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by stam » Wed Nov 02, 2022 5:39 pm

aetaylorBUSBnWt wrote:
Tue Nov 01, 2022 7:58 pm
Anybody know where the Preferences file for LiveCode is stored on a Mac?
(or its name?)

They have a large number of files down there. I am not seeing anything where I could edit the file to get rid of the Toolbar window location so that it has to be rediscovered.
To locate (and trash) the preference files, run this in the message box:

Code: Select all

put the filename of stack "revpreferences"
Obviously quit LC before trashing the file, it will be rebuilt when LC launches…

Post Reply

Return to “Linux”