Page 1 of 1

Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2022 10:11 pm
by Jojo60
Hi, who can help me getting to work a code like this on a Mac. In Windows it works fine. But not on my MacBook. Thanks. Kind regards Johan

on browserOpen
 put "http://www......." into sLink
 put revBrowserOpen(the windowId of this stack, sLink) into sBrowserID
 revBrowserSet sBrowserID, "rect" , the rect of graphic "browsersq"
 revBrowserSet sBrowserID, "scrollbars", false
end browserOpen

on mouseUp pMouseButton
 browserOpen
end mouseUp

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2022 11:58 pm
by stam
I just tried the example in the documentation:

Code: Select all

local tBrowserId
put revBrowserOpen(the windowId \
      of this stack, "http://www.livecode.com" ) into tBrowserId
if tBrowserId is not an integer then
  answer "Failed to open browser"
end if
This fails to open a safari window browser on Mac... i have no prior experience with this command, if this s not expected behaviour then a bug report is probably in order?

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 7:34 am
by SparkOut
Without knowing anything and not able to check the problem or the code, first guess is that the url needs to be https:// unless you can instruct the browser instance to disable secure site requirements.

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 7:52 am
by stam
SparkOut wrote:
Tue Oct 18, 2022 7:34 am
Without knowing anything and not able to check the problem or the code, first guess is that the url needs to be https:// unless you can instruct the browser instance to disable secure site requirements.
I can’t check right now but seems unlikely. As far as I can tell from the documentation, this is meant open a new window in Safari and then navigate to the URL, however safari is never even launched - so it doesn’t appear to be a URL problem.
But I will check when I get a chance…

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:02 am
by bn
Hi Jojo,

I tried your code on a Mac

Code: Select all

local sBrowserID

on browserOpen 
   put "https://www.google.com" into sLink 
   put revBrowserOpen(the windowId of this stack, sLink) into sBrowserID 
   revBrowserSet sBrowserID, "rect" , the rect of graphic "browsersq" 
   revBrowserSet sBrowserID, "scrollbars", false
end browserOpen

on mouseUp pMouseButton 
   browserOpen
end mouseUp
I tried this after having tried a couple of times to create successfully a browser with slight variations of your code and then your code failed, debugging failed also.
Closing Livecode and reopening it then your code (as above) worked.

What I gather from this is that LC does not like too many browser instances at the same time.

Could you try this in a freshly started LC?
Why don't you use a Browser Widget?

Disclaimer:
I have hardly any experience using a browser in LC.

Kind regards
Bernd

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:03 am
by bn
@Stam

You have to set the rect of the browser to make it visible.

Kind regards
Bernd

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:25 am
by Klaus
What are the advantages of using revbrowseropen vs the browser widget?

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 10:58 am
by stam
bn wrote:
Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:03 am
You have to set the rect of the browser to make it visible.

Kind regards
Bernd
Thanks Bernd (as always!)... I was a bit mystified until i noticed the sentence quite far down, near the end of the documentation:
Dictionary/revBrowserOpen wrote:The default rect of a new browser instance is 0,0,0,0. To change this, set the "rect" property using the revBrowserSet command.
That's a blinder.... Perhaps this needs to be given a position of prominence in the documentation ;)

Also it really didn't do what i'd thought it would do based on how the Dictionary is written (namely launch Safari) but as Klaus points out just creates a browser inside the stack much like the browser widget but without the benefit of being able to manipulate the browser object in the IDE (plus it seems to cause a really annoying flicker on scrolling).

I have to echo Klaus' question:
Klaus wrote:
Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:25 am
What are the advantages of using revbrowseropen vs the browser widget?

Re: Can't display webpage from livecode Mac application

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2022 12:00 pm
by Jojo60
Thank you all already for your help. Sites with https open fine, I see now too. It is about this "key2publish.../portal2/registration" site.
Unfortunately it will use http for a while. So I will try to find out how I can open it and check out your comments. Kind regards Johan