Big Sur?

Deploying to Mac OS? Ask Mac OS specific questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

stam
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Big Sur?

Post by stam » Sat Nov 14, 2020 2:31 am

Does anyone know if LiveCode has an issue with upgrading MacOS to Big Sur?

Hutchboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Hutchboy » Sat Nov 14, 2020 10:36 pm

I upgraded my MacBook to Big Sur and LC 9.6.1 Community Edition seems to run fine although I didn't do any extensive testing. I went through the Start Center Tutorial section and ran some sample files and all ok so far.

stam
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Big Sur?

Post by stam » Sat Nov 14, 2020 11:34 pm

Thanks @Hutchboy... i took the plunge as well and haven't encountered any issues with LC 9.6.1 either (just some annoying OS things with some kernel extensions no longer being supported etc).

stam
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Big Sur?

Post by stam » Sun Nov 15, 2020 11:55 am

Actually i take that back. There is at least one issue with Big Sur in my setup.

Everything works as expected so far... except for syntax colouring with my preferred font, google's 'Source Code Pro'.

I prefer this monospaced font as it's easy on the eyes, but not matter what i do it will not colourise in the script editor. If i switch the font to most other fonts it will colourise correctly but re-downloading source code pro and reselecting it in the preferences doesn't address the issue.

Relatively minor quibble but every so slightly annoying...

Simon Knight
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Gunthorpe, North Lincs, UK

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Simon Knight » Sat Nov 21, 2020 10:28 am

Just chiming in to say that I have also lost the colour when using either "default" or "Source Code Pro". Back to courier then !
best wishes
Skids

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5064
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Big Sur?

Post by richmond62 » Sat Nov 21, 2020 10:35 am

I'm currently running macOS 11.1 Beta (20C5048k) and the only obvious problem
seems to be that PNG images made in GIMP screw up in LiveCode, which is a big problem
as I rely on GIMP for both my Devawriter Pro and stuff for my EFL school.

http://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=34892

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Big Sur?

Post by bn » Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:06 pm

As far as colouring of scripts using Source Code Pro:

https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=22897

the fix is in
https://github.com/livecode/livecode-ide/pull/2149

and should be in the next release.

Kind regards
Bernd

bvlahos
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 1:52 am

Re: Big Sur?

Post by bvlahos » Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:37 pm

My app built in LiveCode 9.6.1 Indy while on Mojave (10.14.x). I've noticed 2 things while running in Big Sur (11.0.1) compared to Catalina (10.15.7).

1. CPU utilization is about an order of magnitude higher on Big Sur. Under similar conditions in my app: idle 7% vs. 0.7%, active 25-50% vs. 10-15%.
Not sure if this is LiveCode's issue as I see multiple apps seeming much less responsive in Big Sur.
2. The active TAB is white text on white background so text can't be read.
Marty Knapp has an easy fix for this in the How to Use LiveCode mailing list that involves setting the backgroundColor of the tab button to black (thanks Marty!).

Item 1. It would be useful to know from the mother ship if they see this as a problem that they will address (or that I can optimize in my current code) or if this is something the Apple will address and I shouldn't worry about it.

Item 2. Should I implement Marty's workaround now or does Apple see this as a bug in Big Sur (seems unlikely to me) and likely will change this in a future update/upgrade? If this is not a bug, I assume LiveCode will change this in future versions. Will they be implementing Marty's workaround or something else?

Simon Knight
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Gunthorpe, North Lincs, UK

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Simon Knight » Sun Nov 22, 2020 9:18 pm

I was a little surprised to discover that my stack had attached itself to the IDE, it took a little while to find it; not sure if this because of 9.6.1 or Big Sur or both. The white on white is a pitb.

S
best wishes
Skids

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5679
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Big Sur?

Post by jacque » Mon Nov 23, 2020 7:29 pm

The bug with tab colors is known, fixed, and awaiting release.
https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=22879
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

SteveWoodward
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 4:34 pm

Re: Big Sur?

Post by SteveWoodward » Sat Nov 28, 2020 5:48 pm

After upgrading to Big Sur I noticed that in my test app (still learning LiveCode, former C programmer here) there is interface overlap/corruption when switching between cards (same stack). The first card has a field and a button, the second just a button, in the same location on the cards. Switching between cards causes the controls to overlap and/or parts of the controls get cut off. See below for an idea of what I'm trying to describe (edit: never mind, cannot post link to image). The newly released rc1 exhibits the same behavior.

Thanks, really enjoying writing code again after changing careers about 10 years ago.

Steve W

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5679
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Big Sur?

Post by jacque » Sat Nov 28, 2020 7:46 pm

You will be able to post images and links after 7 posts. For now, is there a server or Dropbox link you can use to show us what you see? When posting a link to the external location, substitute a space or the word "dot" for the dots and we'll know what you mean.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

SteveWoodward
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 4:34 pm

Re: Big Sur?

Post by SteveWoodward » Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:52 am

Ah ok, I figured I was in a probation period. :D

It's not the best image but you can try stevenjwoodward dot us slash livecode_cardissue dot png.

Thanks.

Steve W

SteveWoodward
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 4:34 pm

Re: Big Sur?

Post by SteveWoodward » Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:05 am

Another thing I noticed: Since upgrading, functions related to single and double clicking rows in a data grid have not only stopped responding, the scripts seemed to have disappeared? I'm going to restore an older copy of my project on a machine that still has Catalina on it to confirm.

Thanks.

Steve W

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5679
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Big Sur?

Post by jacque » Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:25 am

For convenience for others:
http://stevenjwoodward.us/livecode_cardissue.png
That is well and truly strange. I take it that the first two images are cards 1 and 2 and the third is what you see when you hit the Back button?

What's the script of the Back button?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”