Building a standalone and running program on other computers

Deploying to Windows? Utilizing VB Script execution? This is the place to ask Windows-specific questions.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Darkon
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:17 pm

Building a standalone and running program on other computers

Post by Darkon » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:22 pm

Hi, I am very new to this side and to using livecode, I built my first windows program and works great when I run it on the computer I build it on. However when I load all the files on to another computer it gives me an error "the application what unable to start correctly (0xc0000005). I am not sure what I did wrong.

Thanks

Klaus
Posts: 12204
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Building a standalone and running program on other compu

Post by Klaus » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:55 pm

Hi Darkon,

1. welcome to the forum! :D
2. Sorry, we cannot even guess what might go wrong without a LOT more info!

What do you mean with "load all files to another computer"?
When do you get that error dialog"... unable to start..."?
Did you try a new simple, maybe even non functional stack, create a standalone from that
and try to run this one on another machine?


Best

Klaus

Darkon
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:17 pm

Re: Building a standalone and running program on other compu

Post by Darkon » Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:10 pm

Hi Klaus,

When you click on save as standalone Application, and it creates the folder with the exe file in it. It also creates a sub folder called externals. If I load that main folder with all the files in it, on to a USB key then down load them to another computer and double click on the exe file that was create it gives that error, however if I double click on the file, on the computer it was made on it works just fine. I tried it even with just a main stack and nothing else and does the same thing.

Thanks

Darkon
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:17 pm

Re: Building a standalone and running program on other compu

Post by Darkon » Mon Mar 16, 2015 3:00 pm

Seems I figured out what the problem was, It was a corrupted, USB Drive, every time I loaded a program on to it, it would mess it up. So I tried it on a name brand USB and it works fine. :D

Klaus
Posts: 12204
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Building a standalone and running program on other compu

Post by Klaus » Mon Mar 16, 2015 3:23 pm

Hi Darkon,

ah, ok, great, I would have been completely clueless otherwise :D


Best

Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”