An Helping instrument for LIVECODE

Are you developing tools to extend the LiveCode environment? This is the place to talk about the nuts and bolts of extending our nuts and bolts. If you want to use a LiveCode or third party Environment extension, visit the Using Evironment Extensions forum.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

gepponline

An Helping instrument for LIVECODE

Post by gepponline » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:08 am

I'm a beginner and I can't understand if I use a different mind scheme or the liveCODE helping tools are structured in a way that I MUST mess around to find the answer to my needs..

Today, for example, I had an HTML table from a webpage and i need to convert it ina tabulated string to be placed on a table field in livecode.
My starting idea was to search "how to substitute HTML tags in a string" or "how to Find text in a string"

In the dictionary I found nothing helping searching for "find" or "find text"
So I wen to the web and after a few searches i found a "replace...in.." command that solved my "problem" and a "working with text" document that can help in some ways...
But this procedures was absolutely not friendly and it takes a long time..

I'm learning livecode enthusiastically and I'd like to have an helping tool that groups commands by generes.
I'm a LabVIEW programmer and in labview IDE there is a structure that i find very usefull and user friendly and could be nice to have a similar thing in livecode.

In the attached image, functions or command are grouped by type or by data they are working on.
So we have STRUCTURES (like loops repeat, for , while, if..then, etc etc)
Then we have ARRAYS with alla commands that can be done on arrays and for every group, command that can be used with them.