Create User Controls

Are you developing tools to extend the LiveCode environment? This is the place to talk about the nuts and bolts of extending our nuts and bolts. If you want to use a LiveCode or third party Environment extension, visit the Using Evironment Extensions forum.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

wimpykid1570

Create User Controls

Post by wimpykid1570 » Thu May 01, 2014 2:37 pm

Hi,

I am new to LiveCode but I have programming knowledge in other languages. I would like to create user controls for livecode and sell them in either open-source or close-source. How do i go about it?

Also, what are the differences among these names:

- Extension
- External
- Plugins
- User Control

Thank you in advance.

Toan

BvG
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Create User Controls

Post by BvG » Thu May 01, 2014 11:22 pm

Externals are always foreign-code additions that are bound using the external c bindings. Usually they're made with C, C++ Obj-C or similar languages.

Plugins are usually stacks that are run in the IDE itself, like my BvG Docu stack. Often they're integrated using the 'Plugins' menuitem from the 'Development' menu.

Note that there's also some helper applications that are neither plugins nor externals. like Zygodact or Installermaker which are still most often targeted at LC developers.

Add-Ons or Extensions usually mean free or commercially sold user made content of any kind (externals, as well as Plugins and Helper Applications). They can be found in the User Control Center (also called RevOnline) or the Store, or just peoples websites.

The User Control center is just a way to share stacks and code snippets.

I guess you want to make your own controls, similar to the datagrid, possibly protected. One way is a library stack that is password protected. That stack then is referenced either by using behaviors, or by inserting it into the front or back or using librarystack.
Various teststacks and stuff: