Encryption and LiveCode Server?

Are you using LiveCode to create server scripts or CGIs?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
keithglong
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:04 am
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida

Encryption and LiveCode Server?

Post by keithglong » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:05 am

Hi All,

I just installed LiveCode Server under MAMP on my Mac. I noticed that the encrypt command does not work. (It looks my installation is not accessing a required library? libssl? Or what?) Is this standard? How can we enable encryption/security within a self-installation of LiveCode Server? Maybe this is common information, but I am just now getting into utilizing LiveCode Server.

Thanks,

- Boo

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Encryption and LiveCode Server?

Post by Peter Wood » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:44 am

It works for me running on the builtin Apache on my Mac with 7.0.1-rc-4 community edition.

Code: Select all

<?lc

put the version & "</br>"

encrypt "text" using "aes256" with "password"
put it & "</br>"
decrypt it using "aes256" with "password"
put it & "</br>"

?>
I get this displayed in the browser:

Code: Select all

7.0.1-rc-4
Salted__á~gÑBêíflVC3*≠üZ¡·áV
text

LCNeil
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Encryption and LiveCode Server?

Post by LCNeil » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:43 am

Hi Boo,

There is a bug with commercial server that results in encryption not working in 7.0. There is a bug report on this here-

http://quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=14137

Until this is fixed, I would suggest using 7.0 community as Peter has suggested.

Kind Regards,

Neil Roger
--
LiveCode Support Team ~ http://www.livecode.com
--

keithglong
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:04 am
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida

Re: Encryption and LiveCode Server?

Post by keithglong » Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:00 pm

Hi Neil,

I am actually the one who filed that bug report, but thanks for the followup. In the meantime, I am using the Community version (per another thread in the Commercial forum).

Sincerely,

Keith "Boo" Long
Gulf Breeze, FL

Post Reply

Return to “CGIs and the Server”