Problems with On-REV server

Are you using LiveCode to create server scripts or CGIs?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

archimede

Problems with On-REV server

Post by archimede » Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:20 pm

Hi
I'm new to on-rev and I'm trying to make it work, but no way. I've tried creating a simple ''hello world' test page with the revolution code enclosed in the php-like snippets <?rev ?> If I save the page as html, the revolution code isn't recognized; if I use the .irev extension I even get a 'file not found' error although the file is actually stored in the current directory. I've even tried the on-rev desktop application but it's just another ftp client. Where am I wrong? Thank you and let me know

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Problems with On-REV server

Post by sturgis » Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:55 pm

archimede wrote:Hi
I'm new to on-rev and I'm trying to make it work, but no way. I've tried creating a simple ''hello world' test page with the revolution code enclosed in the php-like snippets <?rev ?> If I save the page as html, the revolution code isn't recognized; if I use the .irev extension I even get a 'file not found' error although the file is actually stored in the current directory. I've even tried the on-rev desktop application but it's just another ftp client. Where am I wrong? Thank you and let me know
if you use the .irev extension (if I recall correctly) it tries to use an older version of rev server, and it sounds like something has went wrong with that particular configuration in on-rev. If you want to use the older version you might mail support@runrev.com and let em know things aren't working in that particular way. (it might be possible the old version is being phased out, but I don't know. Support can help with that)

To use the current version of livecode-server use .lc as your extension and <?lc ?> as your inline tags and see if it works better.

archimede