CGIs and Studio

Are you using LiveCode to create server scripts or CGIs?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
andyh1234
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

CGIs and Studio

Post by andyh1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:27 am

Im just looking to add my keygen to our apache server.

I can rewrite it in Perl, but since Revolution has been so good so far, Id like to install the Rev engine on the apache server so I can write rev scripts on it, I figure it can do everything and the learning curve could be useful on other projects.

What do I need to do to install this?

I have a Studio license, is this enough. Having problems locating the files I need to get this going!

Thanks

Andy

andyh1234
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Post by andyh1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:30 am

Just to add..

Im looking at http://www.runrev.com/section/features.php which says Studio can create cgi apps, so I assumed it includes rights to use the engine on the server?

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5147
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Thu Sep 06, 2007 2:19 am

Hi Andy,

Here's a simple cgi tutorial:
http://bjoernke.com/runrev/cgi.php

and here's a more extensive one:
http://hyperactivesw.com/cgitutorial/tutorialtoc.html

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

andyh1234
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Post by andyh1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 2:03 pm

Thanks Mark,

I tried downloading the linux script, renamed it to revolution and uploaded it to my server, changing the permissions to 777, but I get a server error.

If I run it on the server directly through a terminal prompt I get...

Could not open libgdk-x11-2.0.so (null)
Can't load stack or script license.rev

I guess this means I have the right version as it did run.

Do I need a separate license file for this to work?

Andy

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5147
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Thu Sep 06, 2007 2:07 pm

Hi Andy,

This problem has been discussed on the Rev Users Mail List:
http://search.gmane.org/search.php?grou ... ery=libgdk

You need to ask your web hosting service to install a few libraries. If he does so successfully, please let us know.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

andyh1234
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Post by andyh1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:55 pm

It a dedicated server, so I can log in and do it.

Thanks for the pointer!

Andy

andyh1234
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Post by andyh1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:27 pm

Thanks again for the tips Mark, I have something working now.

To cut a long story short, it was all to do with the permissions.

I had to change my 'cgi' script to 755 permissions for it to run.

I had used 777 on the basis that it was just a test and I would reduce them later, but when I checked the error logs that was the problem and changing to 755 means I get my Hello World script to display!

Thanks again for all the help, Revolution is great, but what makes it even better is the support, it is very much appreciated!

Thanks again.

Andy

Post Reply

Return to “CGIs and the Server”