HTML 5 App vs. iOS/Android App

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

TheOtherBob

HTML 5 App vs. iOS/Android App

Post by TheOtherBob » Mon Apr 04, 2022 9:26 am

Hello,

I'm new to LiveCode. I'm designing an app and trying to decide which LC licenses to purchase. My target audience will be using mobile devices. I'm considering using a web app, and trying to determine whether LC HTML 5 is a practical choice for implementing this app.

I've spent some time looking through this forum and I have doubts whether LC HTML 5 is going to be suitable.

I'm also having difficulty finding examples of web apps that were developed with LC HTML 5. Could anyone offer links to such examples?

My app needs to store local data... is this even possible using LC HTML 5?

I was hoping that using LC HTML 5 I'd be able to take advantage of a less complicated deployment, but I'm getting the impression that it would actually be more complicated than deploying to iOS or Android.

I would appreciate all thoughts and comments!
~Bob (one of the many)

stam

Re: HTML 5 App vs. iOS/Android App

Post by stam » Mon Apr 04, 2022 5:53 pm

It may be possible to host a nice WASM app with the new web app compiler (and yes, you can store some local data) -- but you wouldn't really be 'deploying apps' as it were, you'd need to host this on a server etc. Possibly you may be better off creating native apps.

If you want a simpler route you may want to have a look at Appli from the liveCloud team - they are currently in beta for low-code/no-code IDE based on LiveCode and the idea is that you run these apps through a 'player' that will be available on the app stores, meaning that it's hassle free to deploy on all devices that can run the player, but at a cost of course. You'll have to have an active liveCode account and a liveCloud/appli account.