Problems with HTML5 standalone (psychology experiment)

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

MarBor

Problems with HTML5 standalone (psychology experiment)

Post by MarBor » Tue Sep 29, 2020 12:33 pm

Hello everyone,

I appreciate the help that is provided here a lot and now I need to ask some questions I haven't found in this forum so far.
I am completely new to LiveCode and have only little prior experience with coding (basic MATLAB and R; however, almost no HTML or JavaScript). I will love to also contribute to this forum with answers as soon as a gain in experience allows me to do so.

Due to the Corona situation studies have to be conducted online for now (and some more time I guess).
Since my original experiment code was written in MATLAB with Psychtoolbox, which doesn't allow for an online solution, I had to recode it in another software, that would run online.
I chose Livecode, because it is quite straightforward - especially when it's about more interactive types of experiments - and because of the prospect of taking the app online.

I am so far quite happy with the results of my work, but I face some problems with actually running the HTML5 standalone in the browser, and I hope you can help me with these:
I use LiveCode Community 9 . 6 . 1 (rc 2) under Windows 10 and with Mozilla Firefox as browser.

- presentation style -
The app looks much different (plain ugly :D) as html standalone (I can link screenshots, if someone grants me the rights).
Is there a remedy for that? Can you change some setting in LiveCode (maybe in some standalone settings)? Or can some style defining code be added in the little HTML file (maybe some CSS)?

- participant information and behaviour -