Back to accented characters & HTML5

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
LeProfBard
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:23 pm

Back to accented characters & HTML5

Post by LeProfBard » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:16 pm

Hi,
Having a baffling problem with accented characters--no, actually, with just one character: ñ . In other words, 'mañana' never comes. In my web app, this character appears numerous times, along with many other accented characters. In the IDE, it's perfect; when I save as a standalone, all the other accented characters come along, except this one. I've tried a variety of fonts and I've looked into setting the text encoding, etc., but nothing good happens. The issue is only in fields containing set text (not in user-generated content). In the screen grab below you can see the issue: at left is a trial page with "mañana" in five different fonts, on the right is how they are rendered in the standalone HTML5 version.
SadEnyay.jpg
SadEnyay.jpg (46 KiB) Viewed 3487 times
What do I need to do?
Thanks,
LPB

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9250
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Back to accented characters & HTML5

Post by richmond62 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:15 am

'mañana' never comes
. . . Um.

Well, what can I say . . . I made a stack with 3 buttons:

"PUT":

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put empty into fld "ff"
   wait 30 ticks
   put "'mañana' never comes" into fld "ff"
end mouseUp
"HTMLtext":

Code: Select all

on mouseUP
   put empty into fld "ff"
   wait 30 ticks
   set the HTMLtext of fld "ff" to "'mañana' never comes"
end mouseUP
and "Nya":

Code: Select all

on mouseUP
   put empty into fld "ff"
   wait 30 ticks
   put "'ma" & numToCodePoint(241) & "ana' never comes" into fld "ff"
end mouseUP
and all worked equally well in a Macintosh standalone, but in an HTML standalone they were ALL rubbish, giving
me a blank field in ALL cases.

I have a feeling I'm doing even worse than you are. 8)

LeProfBard
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:23 pm

Re: Back to accented characters & HTML5

Post by LeProfBard » Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:20 pm

Thank you for this excellent follow up. It helps to have some confirmation, even if it doesn't bring a solution yet. I'll keep asking!

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7210
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Back to accented characters & HTML5

Post by jacque » Wed Jun 03, 2020 5:45 pm

I would have thought that (system) would work. What happens if you set the font to Roboto? In the IDE you'll get a default font but on android it will use Roboto which is the default font there.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

LeProfBard
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:23 pm

Re: Back to accented characters & HTML5

Post by LeProfBard » Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:42 pm

Thank you, Jacque.
That's worth a try. I also stumbled across an older bug report on a similar issue that was resolved by pointing out that the 'fixed line height' cannot be left as 'false'. I will try that later today, to see if it takes care of it.

Post Reply

Return to “HTML5”