Is there anyway to determine the OS of the device running a web deployment ?

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

djkesler
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:37 pm

Re: Is there anyway to determine the OS of the device running a web deployment ?

Post by djkesler » Sat Sep 03, 2022 1:26 am

Thanks to everyone's help in getting to a place where I could submit a bug report, it is #23921.

jacque and scott_morrow ran the test on 5 different Android configurations! Thanks so much.

A special thanks again to bobcole for the insight to use the $_Server array to report on the OS of the device that is connected to the the server!

The link to the results of the test is found at:
https://www.mnonation.com/android/Resul ... idtest.pdf

For my app, I only needed the username and password, i.e. short texts, so I have finished up and it works everywhere, albeit not exactly the same.

We have a great community of developers and I am very thankful for the help.

David Kesler

bobcole
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:53 pm
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri USA

Re: Is there anyway to determine the OS of the device running a web deployment ?

Post by bobcole » Sat Sep 03, 2022 6:02 pm

djkesler wrote:
Sat Sep 03, 2022 1:26 am
A special thanks again to bobcole for the insight to use the $_Server array
David:
Thanks for the shout out!
Bob

PaulDaMacMan
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there anyway to determine the OS of the device running a web deployment ?

Post by PaulDaMacMan » Wed Sep 21, 2022 10:10 pm

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/649 ... os-big-sur which basically says it's a bug in the reporting agent.
Yes that's an Apple bug, there is a shell command I was able to use to get the correct system version (macOS 11.x. or 12.x instead of 10.16):

Code: Select all

put shell("sw_vers -productVersion")
I believe that command gets its info from the same place Installer apps do (inside a .plist file somewhere).
My LCB Repos: https://github.com/PaulMcClernan/
My LiveCode YouTube Videos: PlayList

Post Reply

Return to “HTML5”