Need a Database Solution

Creating desktop or client-server database solutions?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Jack Ultimo

Need a Database Solution

Post by Jack Ultimo » Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:58 pm

Ok, since I am new to Revolution and learning as I go I thought I would ask this question so please tolerate my lack of knowledge for now.

The project I am working on is like an employee database. I need to host this information on the user's computer and not online because there is sensitve personal data and photos (lots of photos and maybe a few videos). Plus lots of cross referenced items.

I saw the example database stack and it is along the lines of what I want to achieve. So my question is...

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to set up a database of this type so it runs effectively on the user's computer, or should I just follow along the lines of the Rev Online Database Tutorial Stack to be safe? I'm just looking to be pointed in the right direction. :)

Thanks in Advance!
Always look out for #1 and Don't step in #2! :)

pali

New bee about database

Post by pali » Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:04 pm

Hi,
I am quite unexperienced too, about databases, but for the last 8 months I have been converting my system takeing care of issueing / printing tickets to theatre performances / festivals, from a text based database (just saving data on text files!) to a more professional system using SQL technologi. In the matter of facts, I am using the interface and inplement of this technologie offered by MySql. At http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/ you can download (for FREE! No strings attached) all what you will need to run a database on your computer or, if you wish, online or on a server using your (several) computer as terminal. You will have to download:
1) MySQL Database Server and Client ( 1 file)
2) MySQL Administrator
3) MySQL Query Browser