checking to see if tables exists?

Creating desktop or client-server database solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
kcwvc52
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:55 pm

checking to see if tables exists?

Post by kcwvc52 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:28 am

this may be a stupid question but this is all very new to me. lets say i have a button that creates a table named users. and lets say i stored some data into that table. if i hit the button again will it recreate the table and trash the data i had in my table or will it check to see if the table exist and do nothing. if it does trash it how can i go about checking to see if the table exists.

Klaus
Posts: 13829
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: checking to see if tables exists?

Post by Klaus » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:01 pm

Hi kcwvc52,

this finction return the name of all table in a given database: revDatabaseTableNames(databaseID)
So you can then check if "users" is in this list.


Best

Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Databases”