Can LiveCode connect to Neo4j graph DBs?

Creating desktop or client-server database solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
thej
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:24 pm

Can LiveCode connect to Neo4j graph DBs?

Post by thej » Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:32 pm

I'm considering learning LiveCode as a means to create apps that connect to Neo4j graph databases (which I'm also learning :-)
Does anyone know if that is possible or what would be required to do so.

Thanks

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Can LiveCode connect to Neo4j graph DBs?

Post by MaxV » Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:11 pm

You can use the neo4j-shell utility (under windows is Neo4jShell.bat), it's included in every neo4j installation.
Use livecode to create a series of commands, then puts all commands in a file, for example mycommands.cql.
then you can use:

Code: Select all

put shell("neo4j-shell -file mycommands.cql") into myresult
Myresult variable will contain any output of the launched commands. Remember to indicate the correct path to neo4j-shell (example: /home/max/downloads/neo4j/bin/neo4j-shell -file mycommands.cql )

For more information: http://neo4j.com/docs/2.1.6/shell-starting.html
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

Post Reply

Return to “Databases”