Does anyone use LiveCode (on any platform) with Oracle?

Creating desktop or client-server database solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
benr_mc
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:22 pm

Does anyone use LiveCode (on any platform) with Oracle?

Post by benr_mc » Fri May 06, 2022 10:55 am

I have encountered a few problems with retrieving data from Oracle using LiveCode on various platforms - has anyone else worked with this combination?

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Does anyone use LiveCode (on any platform) with Oracle?

Post by D4vidrim » Mon Jun 06, 2022 7:52 pm

Hi,
I've tried for ages to use LiveCode with Oracle Database with mixed results.

I still don't know exactly how my computer has to be set up to work. For example, old versions of LC with 32 oracle driver and on win7 work fine.

On Windows10, with LC 664 bit, Oracle driver 64 bit, nothing works, LC crashes right away when I launch this command:

on mouseUp pButtonNumber
put fld "hostAddress" into t_hostAddress
put fld "databaseName" into t_databaseName


put "MyUserID" into t_userName
put "MyPassword" into t_passWord

try
put revOpenDatabase("oracle", t_hostAddress, t_databaseName,t_userName,t_passWord) into tConID
put tConID into fld "IdConnessione"
end try

end mouseUp

I get NO error messages, LC just stops working.

The same exact code works on Win7 just fine.

I believe it is some sort of bug related with oracle driver, but since OS configurations could be different on different PCs, I believe it is pretty hard to find out where the problem is, therefore I must keep using Win7...........................

Any help would be great.

benr_mc
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:22 pm

Re: Does anyone use LiveCode (on any platform) with Oracle?

Post by benr_mc » Fri Jun 10, 2022 9:40 am

Hi David,

Glad to know I'm not alone. Sorry to hear that you don't have the secret to give me!

FWIW I'm mostly able to achieve what I need using ODBC to access Oracle: although this is not without problems, so I've been keen to see if direct Oracle access will improve things. (Although ODBC/Oracle hasn't been working on Linux, LiveCode have sent me a new driver which should be in the next full release: it works, although it seems to be incredibly slow. On Mac (intel) and Windows it works but I get some different results which is _probably_ an ODBC issue rather than Livecode; and on Mac there's also a particular and weird bug.On Mac (apple silicon) it also wasn't working, but again LiveCode have sent me a new driver which... doesn't work yet.)

In terms of direct access to Oracle, I've currently got no luck. On Mac I get an error
'revdberr,invalid database type' (30)

(all drivers in place).

On Windows, like you, it crashes.

I'm going to try Windows 32 bit; then I'll open a new bug in LQCC. I'll post the number here so you can contribute your results also.

(There is an existing report https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=15626 which is the same error, LiveCode 7 on Windows 8. It's marked as confirmed but with no comments or any apparent activity.)

PaulDaMacMan
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Does anyone use LiveCode (on any platform) with Oracle?

Post by PaulDaMacMan » Fri Jun 17, 2022 2:24 am

As a side note / trivia, Oracle once had their very own xTalk scripting language (MediaTalk) / engine called Oracle MediaObjects.
My LCB Repos: https://github.com/PaulMcClernan/
My LiveCode YouTube Videos: PlayList

Post Reply

Return to “Databases”