How do I get List Magic to function in StandAlone

Interested in using the many environmental add-ons and extensions from LiveCode and third parties to the flexible LiveCode environment? This is the place to talk about it.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
djkesler
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:37 pm

How do I get List Magic to function in StandAlone

Post by djkesler » Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:20 pm

3 months ago I started working on my first LC project after 15 years away from any type of programming. I have been very impressed with the progress that I have been able to make with LC.

However, I included ListMagic on a couple of my cards. It works great in the development environment, but does not function at all in the standalone mode. I suspect that I have not loaded it properly in the build. It appears that LC does not reveal errors in the the standalone mode, so it is hard to figure out exactly what is going on.

I don't suspect that there is a ListMagic problem, just a newbe glitch.

Any help would be appreciated.

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5118
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I get List Magic to function in StandAlone

Post by Mark » Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm

Hi,

Make sure that ListMagic is included in the standalone, either as substack or as additional stackfile.

If substack, then do

Code: Select all

on preOpenStack
  start using stack "ListMagick"
  pass preOpenStack
end preOpenStack
if separate stackfile, try

Code: Select all

on preOpenStack
  set the itemDel to slash
  put item 1 to -2 of the effective filename of this stack & "/ListMagic.rev" into myPath
  start using stack myPath
  pass preOpenStack
end preOpenStack
Kind regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/livecodebook

djkesler
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:37 pm

Re: How do I get List Magic to function in StandAlone

Post by djkesler » Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:55 pm

Thank you very much for the solution to my problem!
I have been very happy with the way that LM works and it appears to be very stable indeed.
Is there a better place to get answers about LM than this forum?
I have just a few more things that would be helpful.

Thank you.

Post Reply

Return to “Using Environment Extensions”