Bug in LiveCode IDE in Linux

If you find an issue in LiveCode but are having difficulty pinning down a reliable recipe or want to sanity-check your findings with others, this is the place.

Please have one thread per issue, and try to summarize the issue concisely in the thread title so others can find related issues here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
System25
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:40 pm

Bug in LiveCode IDE in Linux

Post by System25 » Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:45 pm

Hi everybody,
I'm using Linux Mint 18 Sarah (Mate desktop version) and I've just downloaded and installed LiveCode, but it fails.
When I run it, the desktop appears full with a grey area. When I change window I can see that there are some windows behind the gray area but when I try to click on those areas the grey area comes to focus.

Screen captures attached.

Any suggestions?

Best regards!
Attachments
livecode_error2.png
livecode_error.png

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7022
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Bug in LiveCode IDE in Linux

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Nov 27, 2019 9:03 pm

This is a known issue on some Linux distros. The remedy is to turn off the backdrop, which can be done from the View menu.

Relevant reports, which I've updated this morning thanks to your prompting:
https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=22050
https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=17323
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

bogs
Posts: 3995
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Bug in LiveCode IDE in Linux

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 28, 2019 2:23 pm

FourthWorld wrote:
Wed Nov 27, 2019 9:03 pm
This is a known issue on some Linux distros. The remedy is to turn off the backdrop, which can be done from the View menu.
Apparently, this can no longer be done in the latest dp (9.6.0). I added a comment to your first linked report, including my experiences in Ubuntu 18.0.4 with the MATE desktop. I did not test the Gnome desktop, nor do I have any plans to.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Triage”