Replacing scroll bar question

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Pistris
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:40 am

Replacing scroll bar question

Post by Pistris » Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:20 am

Is there a way to replace the ugly gray scroll bar on fields with something more pleasant
any tricks?
or a way to scroll a field without the scroll bar showing?

I got no hits on the forum using "Replacing scroll bar"

thanks

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:57 am

Which platform?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

Pistris
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by Pistris » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:05 am

oh sorry, is for IOS

Klaus
Posts: 11276
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by Klaus » Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:40 pm

Maybe you mean something like this:
http://lessons.livecode.com/m/4069/l/94 ... ll-a-field

Pistris
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by Pistris » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:57 pm

Hi Klaus,
I don't want to use a scroller because the field I have is editable
I just want to change the actual scrolling bar because is too ugly and has clashes with my design
if it cant be changed then how you implement a scroller on a field that is editable and also
provide a scrollbar to give users an idea of the position they are


thanks

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:24 pm

You may want to consider a using a mobile-native field for any editable text.

Not only will it take care of scrolling for you, but attempting to emulate the text editing conventions users expect (cut, copy, paste, selection handle behavior, etc) in a non-native field can be quite daunting.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

Pistris
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by Pistris » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:31 pm

And how do I implement a mobile-native field
I only see android native field on my tools palette

is that something I have to download like a widget or something?

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5139
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by jacque » Sat Nov 09, 2019 6:41 pm

You'd create a native input field by script using mobileControlCreate. This works with both Android and iOS fields so you don't need a widget at all.

Code: Select all

mobileControlCreate "multiline", "myField" 
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Pistris
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Replacing scroll bar question

Post by Pistris » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 pm

thanks
works perfect

Edd.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”