blurred image when using export snapshot

Deploying to Windows? Utilizing VB Script execution? This is the place to ask Windows-specific questions.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
per_bodelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:25 pm

blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by per_bodelius » Thu Nov 07, 2019 1:54 pm

Hi,
When I use export snapshot on IOS or Android it´s no problem.
But when using the same code in windows, (export snapshot from rect(the rect of graphic "captureimg") to file fullpictPath & "/newImage.jpg" as jpeg) I get the result you can see below (the right image)

Image

The exported image gets blurred. Is this a specific windows problem or am I doing something wrong ?
Is there any way to control the quality of the exported image.

Best regards
Per Bodelius

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:25 pm

What is the jpegQuality global property set to?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

per_bodelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by per_bodelius » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:29 pm

Hi,
I have set it to 100 ( like this: set the JPEGQuality to 100)

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:46 pm

If that hasn't improved output quality you might consider filling a bug report.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

Saman Sjr.
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:40 am

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by Saman Sjr. » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:41 am

have you change the Resize quality property of graphic "captureimg" object to "good" ot "best" ?

per_bodelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by per_bodelius » Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:40 am

Yes I have tried with Resize quality but i get the same result...

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2166
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by [-hh] » Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:45 pm

From dictionary: The JPEGQuality setting is used when a file is exported in JPEG
And you set it to 100. So your result shows obviously a bug on Windows. Please report to https://quality.livecode.com
shiftLock happens

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:08 pm

I just tested this on Win10 and was unable to reproduce it without changing the jpegQuality to a really low number (>40). Anything higher looks pretty good, and the default of 100 is nearly visually indistinguishable from the original.

Is there any resizing or other factors I'm not taking into account in my effort to reproduce this?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

per_bodelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by per_bodelius » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:35 pm

The image I sent first as an example was created in LiveCode Indy 9.5 . A moment ago I tried the same stack in LC Indy 9.0.1 and the result is nearly perfect! I looks like a bug in LC 9.5 or what do you think?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:50 pm

It might be, as I didn't test on v9.5. I tested in v9.5.1. Before filling a bug report it may be good to double check in v9.5.1.

9.5.1 also has some critical fixes related to memory deallocation, so it's an excellent version to work with for many reasons.

If 9.5.1 works well, and given that 9.0.1 works well, it may be worth double checking the test in 9.5. More than once I've changed a global property setting while experimenting and forgot that I did so. If that's what happened here at least you're in good company. :) And if not at least we know the team caught it and fixed it quickly.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Nov 09, 2019 6:46 pm

Update: I just tested in v9.5 on Win10. Good result.

Updating to v9.5.1 is a good move for other reasons, but at least you don't need to file a bug report against v9.5.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

per_bodelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by per_bodelius » Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:38 am

Hi Richard,
Thanks for your engaged and fast support! I have just updated to 9.5.1 and the result is just perfect.
From now I will always try with the latest version first before start complaining on our forum ...

Regards
Per B

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: blurred image when using export snapshot

Post by FourthWorld » Mon Nov 11, 2019 5:47 am

No worries. The 9.0.5 and 9.5 cycles were unusual, in that some fixes went into 9.0.5 before a 9.5.x was released that included them. So you're in good company, a lot of folks continued using 9.0.5 even after 9.5 came out.

But in general, using the latest version can be very helpful. In addition to (usually) containing the latest features, when submitting a bug report the question of whether the issue is still present in the most recent build will be among the first steps in diagnosis.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”