Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Cyberqat
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by Cyberqat » Mon May 13, 2019 2:34 am

Okay that worked now.

Next question. Is there a way to set a startup script that does this automatically so I dont have to do it every time I open livecode?

Cyberqat
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by Cyberqat » Mon May 13, 2019 2:38 am

Also, scaling the toolbar makes the text over-run into each other. (see image)

Any way to fix that?
Selection_028.png

bogs
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by bogs » Mon May 13, 2019 9:44 am

Cyberqat wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 2:34 am
Next question. Is there a way to set a startup script that does this automatically so I dont have to do it every time I open livecode?
I'm not sure I understand what your asking about. If you mean turning off the backdrop, that should be a one time thing, you make sure it is unchecked and are done, or should be. If it is not un-checking and staying un-checked, that sounds like another bug report.
Cyberqat wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 2:38 am
Also, scaling the toolbar makes the text over-run into each other.
I already mentioned the effects you will encounter using scaling back in my other posts, like here:
bogs wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 3:09 pm
I am not saying:
* this is the best way to do it
* it is right that you should have to do it
* that doing it this way will not introduce other issues (text cutoff, for example).

But if the size of it is the issue most affecting it's usability, this will certainly make the stacks you can't see clearly large enough to see.
You can try turning the text off for the menubar

As I thought about this a bit more, there is an alternate way to achieve the same thing, since 'nix has very good accessibility aids, if you have them enabled, you could hold the ctrl key down and scroll your mousewheel on the desktop, which introduces a level of zoom that doesn't require anything from Lc. Better yet (from my point of view), it follows the mouse position.
Image

Cyberqat
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by Cyberqat » Fri May 17, 2019 3:22 am

So the best solution Ihave found is instructions for running a virtual second X screen and VNCing to it with a screen multiplier.

But its a real pain int the butt.

Ive tried running under Windows but, frankly, the editor performance is awful.

So far Im pretty underwhelmed at Livecode's cross platform ability :(

bogs
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by bogs » Fri May 17, 2019 3:44 am

Cyberqat wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 3:22 am
Ive tried running under Windows but, frankly, the editor performance is awful.
Have you tried turning off 'live errors' in the options for the script editor?
Win7Tester [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_001.png
Live errors...
Cyberqat wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 3:22 am
So the best solution Ihave found is instructions for running a virtual second X screen and VNCing to it with a screen multiplier.
Did you try just using the accessibility settings I mentioned? I mean, it really doesn't get much easier than scrolling your mouse wheel a couple times.
Selection_002.png
Zoom zoom...
Image

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6599
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by FourthWorld » Fri May 17, 2019 3:52 am

Cyberqat wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 3:22 am
Ive tried running under Windows but, frankly, the editor performance is awful.
Which version of LiveCode?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

Cyberqat
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by Cyberqat » Sat May 18, 2019 6:57 am

So... Im using the latest release version. 9 something?

Ill try turning off live errors.

Im not sure which Linux you are referring to but on Ubuntu 18.04, from what I'vefound and read, you have to switch zoom on and off on the tool bar, its a single set zoom factor, and the scrolling around isnt the easiest way to work. If there is a way to dynamically zoom with the mouse wheel in and out I haven't found it.

Turns out the VNC solution depends on xpra, which is broken on Ubuntu 18.04

I think I've found a Linux solution, which is ugly but I think wil lwork. I installed Virtual Box and a second Linux ontop of my Linux so i could run a virtual screen that is a lower resolution and scale it.

Really Ubuntu needs a way to do that scaling on a per app basis without these contortions.

AND Livecode needs to be fixed on HiDPI linux.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6599
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by FourthWorld » Sat May 18, 2019 8:46 am

Cyberqat wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 6:57 am
Really Ubuntu needs a way to do that scaling on a per app basis without these contortions.

AND Livecode needs to be fixed on HiDPI linux.
I think it's more the latter.

It seems LiveCode is using older GDK APIs. They need to be updated.

I'll ty to remember to discuss this with the lead engineer when I'm at the conference next week.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

bogs
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by bogs » Sat May 18, 2019 12:51 pm

Cyberqat wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 6:57 am
Im not sure which Linux you are referring to but on Ubuntu 18.04, from what I've found and read, you have to switch zoom on and off on the tool bar, its a single set zoom factor, and the scrolling around isnt the easiest way to work. If there is a way to dynamically zoom with the mouse wheel in and out I haven't found it.
Hm. I guess that, as that picture I posted says, zoom is relegated to a keyboard combo, not the key+mousewheel they (gnome3 desktop) use to have through the compiz settings manager, however it is certainly possible to zoom the screen without touching the toolbar simply by following the instructions in that picture, i.e. -
* go to the settings panel
* go to "Universal Access"
* change 'Zoom' to 'On', and choose the zooming method best suited to what your looking for, there are a few ways to zoom.
* close settings
* press either (alt + super + =) or (alt + super + -) on the keyboard (which can be changed to your own preference under 'devices' / 'keyboard'), and zoom in or out.

I could also point out the slightly less glamorous way of just adjusting your screen rez to say, half or 3/4 of what it is now, but I'll pass.

But whatever, while I agree that certainly the IDE should be fixed to display correctly since the engine has had hiDPI for a while now, I am glad you found your own solution with VirtBox.
Image

Cyberqat
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by Cyberqat » Mon May 20, 2019 5:07 am

Okay... so I did get my zoom keys working thanks.

I also tried it with a VirtualBox UbuntuVM ontop of Ubuntu. That let me scale up the window.

I tried using tigervnc with a virtual screen.... wayyyy too slow..

So for now the answres seem to be a VM or zoom.

I wish there was just a command line on the executable to force it to run in HiDPI mode. Until they figure out autodetection on linux that would be enough,

I assume Livecode is *not* using any of the standard toolkits with built in HiDPi support but is doing all its own rendering?

Oh and thank you all for the help.

bogs
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Ubuntu 18 and HiDPI

Post by bogs » Mon May 20, 2019 1:12 pm

I am curious, have you tried earlier versions of Lc, and do they also exhibit this? From the screen shot you posted in post 1, looks like your using 9.0.4 rc3.

If you try earlier versions, say, starting at 8.x, and they don't have this issue, then maybe it is an unresolved issue due to being a release candidate.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Linux”