CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:36 pm

Hi,

A bit frustrated. Got a new laptop and installed Livecode, but been struggling to get it to work to build a standalone Android App

Current setup:
Windows 10 x64
LiveCode Community 9.0.3
Java 8 build 1.8.0_201-b09
Android Studio 3.3.2

Livecode Mobile Support for Android SDK and Java SDK is configured
Almost have all the APIs in Android Studio installed.

Error:
When creation standalone application I get the following error:
"There was an error while saving the standalone application- could not encode class bundle"
Could not resolve the issue

So did the following to get more information about the error:
1. Type in the msg box "edit the script of stack revsaveasandroidstandalone"
2. In the script editor window that just opened, search for "Could not encode class bundle"
3. Add "answer the result" just before the "Could not encode class bundle" line.
4. Click apply to (temporarily) save this change
5. Build an android standalone

Then got the error:
"CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified"

Not sure what to do next, and not sure what path is missing, as I created and "empty" test app, with only one button, to test with.

Help appreciated.

Regards
Marra

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2311
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by jmburnod » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:15 pm

Hi Marra,
Not sure that help but if you have a closestack message you maybe need using this:

Code: Select all

on closeStack
   if there is a stack "revStandaloneProgress" then
      if the mode of stack "revStandaloneProgress" > 0 then
         exit closeStack
      end if
   else
      pass closeStack
   end if
end closeStack
Best regards
Jean-Marc

marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:02 pm

Hi Jean-Marc,

Thank you for responding, but unfortunately this did not help. Exact same error

Regards
Marra

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4916
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by jacque » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:37 pm

Did you also install the latest Build Tools? Those are required.

If you search the forums here for "could not encode class bundle" you'll find more info as well.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:28 pm

Hi Jacque,

Thank you but have those covered
1.PNG
2.PNG
I will go through the forum topics again, just incase I missed something.

Regards
Marius

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4916
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by jacque » Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:46 pm

What is the JDK path in standalone settings? Is it the same as the one you installed?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:04 am

Hi Jacque,

I can confirm that it is the same I also reinstalled java just to make sure that all is good. And did a "Reset All Preferences to Defaults" and restarted LiveCode. Setting the location again for Android SDK root, updated the JDK again, which I confirmed is correct.

Regards
Marra

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4916
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by jacque » Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:30 pm

If you have more than one copy of Java installed, LC or the OS may be using the wrong one regardless of the standalone settings. Someone else had the same problem and resolved it by deleting all other copies of Java.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:44 am

Hi Jacque,

I uninstalled all previous updates and complete removed Java and install only one version of JDK. Unfortunately the same error.

Maybe a complete clean-up of everything is needed. :(

Regards
Marra

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4916
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by jacque » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:18 pm

I'm running out of ideas. Could you post a screenshot of the standalone settings Android pane? Maybe I'll see something there.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Tue Apr 16, 2019 6:11 am

Hi jacque,

Thank you for your support up to now. I will refresh everything, form scratch and then post the configuration back here once done.

Regards
Marra

marra
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:32 pm

Re: CreateProcess failed:The system cannot find the path specified

Post by marra » Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:38 pm

Hi,

So uninstalled all, re-installed and updated settings. Same problem.

Here is the standalone Android settings pane.
android.jpg
Regards
Marra

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”