Double title bars on Mac

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Double title bars on Mac

Post by pthirkell » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:07 am

This problem has arisen earlier with suggested solution Cmd-Shift-t & return to make second title bar disappear. It also goes away when "resize" option is off.

All of my stack windows are showing double title bars and, despite trying a number of things, I simply can't turn it off.

Any help welcome!

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6154
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:08 am

I had thought this was addressed recently. Which version are you using?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by richmond62 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:20 am

Very queer indeed. I've worked my way from RunRev 1.1.1 to
LC 9 on Macintosh computers and never seen a double menu bar.
-
dp.jpg
dp.jpg (11.55 KiB) Viewed 656 times

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4616
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by jacque » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:29 pm

It started when Finder/MacOS introduced tabbed windows.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by pthirkell » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:19 am

The tabs could be quite useful on occasions if I could easily turn it off and on ... multiple stacks in one window and script editor in one tab and stack proper in another. But not being able to turn off the tab feature is a right pain at the moment.

I'm using LC 9.0.1 RC 1 (on Mac)
Stack1.jpg
Stack1.jpg
Attachments
Stack1 and 2.jpg

Klaus
Posts: 10327
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by Klaus » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:09 pm

This is a seting of the macOS system settings: Dock
In the popup "When opening documents prefer tabs..." (translated from german OS)
select "Manual" or "Only in fullscreen" and the TABS should disappear.

pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by pthirkell » Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:54 am

Thanks suggestions but none of them work. Seriously ... is there a way that I can make the second title bar go away? It's proving to be a real problem now as every new stack has two bars.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by dunbarx » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:47 pm

Hi.

I would contact QCC right away.

But I often find issues that nobody else has ever seen. This seems to be the case here as well. It will be interesting to see if the team can reproduce...

Craig Newman

Klaus
Posts: 10327
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by Klaus » Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:23 pm

I had this problem, too, some months ago, but the DOCK setting described above cured this inconvenience.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6154
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:40 pm

There are workarounds, but IIFC this should only happen in apps that support tabbed windows. If LiveCode does not it should be able to notify the OS of that, and this behavior will no longer risk confusing end users.

Anyone here know the bug report number for this?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Double title bars on Mac

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:02 am

Hi all,

There is a report about this issue:

https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=21190

It seems on High Sierra you can no longer use cmd+Shift+T to show/hide the double title bar.

Best,
Panos
--

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”