showing the outerglow effect

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, kevinmiller

Post Reply
monki
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:56 pm

showing the outerglow effect

Post by monki » Sun Jun 10, 2018 2:42 am

I need to have the outerglow of a graphic turned on/off by the script, but this doesn't seem to be it.

Code: Select all

set the outerglow of graphic "myRec" to true 
Does anyone know how to reference the show/hide outerglow effect? Thanks

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2588
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: showing the outerglow effect

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:06 am

#1 Read the built-in help system. 8)

#2 Try this:

Code: Select all

set the outerglow["color"] of graphic "myRec" to "255,0,0"

monki
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:56 pm

Re: showing the outerglow effect

Post by monki » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:20 pm

1. yeah, I did that.
2. I did that, too.

Looking at the interface, it actually shows the radio as checked (active), but still doesn't show the outer glow... :?

Maybe I need to reinstall livecode, or something :|

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2588
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: showing the outerglow effect

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:31 pm

This is because you have to mess around with opacity and size as well:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   set the outerglow["color"] of graphic "g1" to "255,255,255"
   set the outerglow[size] of graphic "g1" to 150
   set the outerglow[opacity] of graphic "g1" to 255
end mouseUp
-
glow.png
-
Outerglow.livecode.zip
Here's the stack.
(1.13 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

monki
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:56 pm

Re: showing the outerglow effect

Post by monki » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:46 pm

Ah, ok, that worked. Thanks for your help :)

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”