Expired licence

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4392
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by jacque » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:08 pm

No bomb, just a reversion to the community edition. I don't have a copy of community handy, but try this with your expired Indy:

1. Set a password on a stack as you did before. Save and close the stack. Relaunch LC. See if the script still says it is password protected when you re-open it.

2. Open a script editor, go to the Edit menu -> Options and turn on AutoComplete. Does it still work?

The results will tell us both something.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2441
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:17 pm

I have done exactly what you told me to do, and the script still shows that it is password protected
and allows me to unlock it when I enter the password.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4392
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by jacque » Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:27 am

Maybe you're special. :)
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

bogs
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Expired licence

Post by bogs » Mon Jun 11, 2018 3:15 am

I always thought so :D
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2441
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:41 am

Maybe you're special.
Yes, well, as ambiguous remarks go . . . :D

I am certainly not complaining, and a little voice did tell me to "keep shtum" about this matter,
but, if this is a regular phenomenon (or, non-phenomenon), as it impinges on LiveCode's revenue stream, it might be useful for all of "us" (this is a reference to "Community", geddit?) all to know.
Last edited by richmond62 on Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4392
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by jacque » Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:48 pm

I was thinking the same thing, we need more clarification on what happens. Maybe it only applies to the next update. Or maybe my tests were faulty. At any rate, your honesty is commendable.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”