Expired licence

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:56 pm

So, my LiveCode Indy licence expired on 31 May,
so I am interested to find that all my Indy versions of LiveCode
on my iMac are still functioning.

bogs
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Expired licence

Post by bogs » Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:46 pm

I would suspect it depends on the version of Lc, beyond a certain age limit the license was non-expiring. If they are all the same versions, then I'm out of guesses :cry:
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:22 pm

3littleDickyBirds.png
7.1.4 - 8.1.8 - 8.1.9

bogs
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Expired licence

Post by bogs » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:55 pm

LOL <tweet tweet> :mrgreen:

Maybe it is broken on yer imac eh? :wink:
Image

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4393
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by jacque » Sat Jun 02, 2018 5:48 pm

As I understand it, after expiration LC reverts to the community edition. I'm not sure if that means existing code stops working, but you may not be able to add new code that relies on Indy features. I guess you'll have to see.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:29 pm

LC reverts to the community edition
Aha: well, the best way of testing this is to see if one can build a standalone
with password protected stacks . . .
tester1.jpg
tester2.jpg

Well, as my Granny said, "A picture is worth a thousand words."
Last edited by richmond62 on Sat Jun 02, 2018 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4393
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by jacque » Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:41 pm

Do you have internet access? LC may need to call home.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Sat Jun 02, 2018 8:09 pm

Yes, I do.

heatherlaine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:59 pm

Re: Expired licence

Post by heatherlaine » Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:27 am

Just in case anyone is still wondering about this, the reason Richmond could still build is simple: we don't cut you off the day your subscription goes on hold. We give you a few days grace to rectify it and send you a few reminders. Then you lose access to Indy. Which has now happened in this case.

Best Regards,

Heather

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:40 pm

Thank you heatherlaine for the explanation.

With "a little help from my friend" ( https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/deva ... ers-design#/ ) I should be buying a new licence shortly.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:29 pm

Then you lose access to Indy
I wonder what "losing access" means, especially as I have just run off a standalone
with my Indy 8.1.8.
Which has now happened in this case.
I must have missed something.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4393
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by jacque » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:15 pm

The Community edition can make standalones. But if you are using any Indy features they won't work. For example, you probably no longer have access to TSNet's built in functions, only the raw commands, and have reverted to libURL. You probably can't set a password on a stack.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:15 pm

You probably can't set a password on a stack.
Well, I can within the standalone builder; but, perhaps you mean something else.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:45 am

When I typed this:

Code: Select all

set the password of stack "tester" to "sausages"
into the Message Box it did NOT throw a wobbly!
pWord.png

Quod erat demonstrandum est
.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2443
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Expired licence

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:09 am

We give you a few days grace to rectify it
And then what?

#1 the Indy version of LiveCode phones home?

[That makes little sense as there has to be proviso for those who use it offline]

#2 the licence file contains a "bomb"?

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”