erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Postby pthirkell » Sat Jul 08, 2017 4:12 am

I use a modern MacBook Pro together with an older 23" Apple Cinema HD second display. When the displays (using System Preferences -> Displays) are arranged in a conventional side-by-side way with the tops of each display aligned, the layout of the Livecode IDE works as expected.

When I "arrange" the larger display 'above' the MacBook Pro display however, the Livecode IDE opens in the second monitor despite the MacBook Pro being defined as the primary display. Windows and palettes behave erratically and sometimes disappear completely from either screen. For serious work I have to disconnect the second monitor.

A related issue is that, if the monitors are arranged side by side (in display preferences) but the tops of each display are not exactly in line, the Livecode IDE also behaves really erratically. It will place windows and palettes and sometimes the IDE control bar in seemingly random ways, or half off one screen, or whatever. Basically it is unusable.

Is this perhaps a bug ... or more likely just an artifact of my using a second monitor which is 8 or 9 years old with a non-Apple (Kanex) USB-C to DVI display adaptor? I haven't tested for these issues using a modern second display.

Any advice or guidance appreciated.
pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Postby richmond62 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:56 am

I am currently using a Polycarbonate iMac (2006) with a Philips 23 inch thing to the left of it.

Mac OS 10.7.8

I have no obvious problems with LiveCode at all, but that is probably because
I always keep the Menubar and the Tools stack on the home monitor, and only
use the Philips one for either "parking" stacks I'm not working on, or for other
apps that I tend to use at the same time (such as GIMP).
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Postby Mikey » Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:09 pm

even worse, if you have them organized vertically, you get baaaaaaaaaaad mojo.
I filed a couple of bug reports related to this, so find them and sign on to them.
Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 534
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Postby richmond62 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:31 pm

Grabber.png
Grabber.png (15.64 KiB) Viewed 404 times


Stack Grabber.livecode.zip
Here's the stack
(7.21 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Postby pthirkell » Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:10 am

Very cool - thanks :)
pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: erratic IDE layout behavior with multiple monitors

Postby mwieder » Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:07 pm

I wouldn't go so far as to say the current situation is unusable, but it's certainly erratic.
Even something like setting the backdrop - sometimes it's on the main monitor, sometimes the other.
mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 2561
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US


Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest