textDecode/Encode problems

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Hans-Helmut

textDecode/Encode problems

Post by Hans-Helmut » Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:40 pm

I am using Windows 10, LC 9 dp6.

As officially suggested, working with outside files, the textEncode () and textDecode () functions must be used.
After some testing, I do not know how to solve my current text encoding and decoding problem.
As a text editor, I am using the latest version of Notepad++.
Downloading a text file from Google (exported contacts), the original text file "google.csv" is encoded in "UCS-2 LE BOM". I do not know what this actually means, but my usual textDecode ( text , "UTF-8" ) does not work here for any nonstandard characters.
The text to test:
Программируем
Bewußt über das Thema diskutieren
The Russian text is not supported in "ANSI" for West-European languages and will not show.
  • Reading this Google-encoded file using UTF-8 will neither show German special "Umlaute" nor the Russian text (which appears as question marks).
  • Reading it without decoding correctly shows European and German characters, but no Russian characters
  • Converting the file using Notepad++ to UTF-8 works ok. Then also textDecode(text, "UTF-8") will work correctly.
So, does this mean that we can not be sure that such encoded text files will not work with our standard way of decoding? It would mean first opening such files with a third party tool (text editor), converting them to "UTF-8", and then importing them into LiveCode. Correct?

Is there a way that we could convert a text file from such format "UCS-2 LE BOM" to "UTF-8" using LiveCode? Unfortunately, I have not been able doing this.

To read the file, I tried two ways:

Code: Select all

open file tFileName
   read from file tFileName until eof -- end of file