revBrowser error

Bringing the internet highway into your project? Building FTP, HTTP, email, chat or other client solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

ernie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:02 pm

revBrowser error

Post by ernie » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:08 pm

Hey guys,

i'm new here and want to learn LiveCode programming..

I want to program a little web viewer but it doesnt work:
all test applications on Windows ive tested give the same error on the line where sth. like this stands:

"put revBrowserOpen(tWindowId, pUrl) into tBrowserId"

error:
"card "main_stack": execution error at line 11 (Function: error in function handler) near "revBrowserOpen", char 7"


so i think sth with the function revBrowserOpen is wrong..
first i thought it could be that i havent installed internet explorer as default webbrowser..but after its installation it didnt work either :(
then i tried it on another pc where ie was installed, but either didnt work!!

Do i have to set a local browser??

Can anyone help a newbie??

thx in advance

btw. OS: Win 7 64bit
Image http://www.perfectinter.net.tf

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by sturgis » Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:01 pm

Are you sure tWindowId contains a valid window id?

To test, change it to: the window id of stack "stackname" or just pop an answer dialog in before the function call to make sure the window id is actually in your temporary variable.

Also, if it only behaves this way after you've built a standalone (and you have eliminated the previous) make sure you are not trying to initiate the browser using preopenstack. Many times the external libraries for revbrowser (and other externals) are not yet available so there will be a problem.

Finally, it would help if you'd post the whole handler, so that we can see what is initialized where and perhaps locate any other issues that might lead up to this.

ernie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by ernie » Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:42 pm

thanks for your fast reply:

but im sorry i just dont understand what u mean..
I use the LiveCode Community Version and it doesnt work either if i run it in LiveCode itself!

ive used e.g. this code in BrowserTest (see attachement):

Code: Select all

global pUrl

on openCard
  local tWindowId
  put the windowid of this stack into tWindowId
  
  local tBrowserId
  
  put "http: // w w w . r u n r e v . c o m" into pUrl
  
  put revBrowserOpen(tWindowId, pUrl) into tBrowserId
   
  if tBrowserID contains "error" or tBrowserId is not an integer then
    answer warning tBrowserId
    exit to top
  end if
  set the altBrowserID of this stack to tBrowserId
end openCard

what should i change??
I just ran it and get the error with revBrowserOpen..

I just want a short working web viewer that i can test with..
Attachments
BrowserTest.zip
(2.68 KiB) Downloaded 368 times
Image http://www.perfectinter.net.tf

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by sturgis » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:39 pm

Hmm. Its working for me here (osx mountain lion) though I did notice that the URl in the test stack you posted was messed up. No error popping for me, but if you are't on osx the underlying stuff may have an issue with it. So, a couple things you might check.

First, hand retype the URl that you use with revbrowseropen.
Second, might restart LC on the off chance that something has made a left turn off into neverland.


I've re-arranged some things in your stack and slightly tweaked some stuff (like where scripts are, and rather than use a property, I use a card script local to hold the browser id) if you want to look at it, you can find it here. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/119 ... t.livecode It is named the same as your current stack though, so if you open them at the same time the engine will complain. Make sure your current stack is saved before you do that just in case.

andrewmk
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:12 am

Re: revBrowser error

Post by andrewmk » Thu Apr 11, 2013 10:49 pm

@sturgis Does it work for you in the community edition? I get exactly the same result (error) as ernie using the open source v6.0 Livecode, and the same stack works perfectly in 5.5.3. Tested on Win XP 32 bit and Win 7 64 bit.

Andrew

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by sturgis » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:17 am

Yep, I was testing in the community edition. DId the stack I linked fail also? Are you both on the same os? Due to all the changes needed to release the community edition it wouldn't surprise me if there were some quirks to work out.

What OS, patch and up to date, do ANY of the externals work or do they all give problems? Could test the database stuff with the following code to create and then close an empty database. If it errors out also, would make me wonder if the externals are not being found for some reason. Worth a check at least. If I get access to a windows machine i'll try it, hopefully someone else will chime in with a solution soon.

Code: Select all

put specialfolderpath("desktop") & "/temp.sqlite" into tPath
put revOpenDatabase("sqlite",tPath,,,) into tDatabaseId
if tDatabaseId is an integer then
    answer information "Database opened successfully"
    revclosedatabase tDatabaseId
else
    answer information "There was a problem" & tDatabaseId
end if

ernie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by ernie » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:42 am

sry..im a complete beginner..

the url was correct..i only had to write it like this, cause it isnt allowed to write urls in the code-tag..

can you write a simple script with revBrowserOpen?
i dont know what test and how to test and where the error comes from?!

@sturgis: i downloaded your version and it gave me this error when executing:

"card "main_stack": execution error at line n/a (Object: rectangle does not have 4 points)"

in the same line at revBrowserOpen.
and when debugging the same as before:

"card "main_stack": execution error at line 16 (Function: error in function handler) near "revBrowserOpen", char 8"


dont know what to change?! :(


EDIT: btw. tested now on THREE different Windows PCs with IE and it doesnt work!!
Image http://www.perfectinter.net.tf

andrewmk
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:12 am

Re: revBrowser error

Post by andrewmk » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:25 am

I tried using your browser stack sturgis and like the runrev browser sample it works in 5.5.3 but fails in the revBrowserOpen function using 6.0.

Your database test script works fine in both for me.

(I'm currently testing on Windows XP Professional SP3, and it should be fully up to date with patches.)

Andrew

ernie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by ernie » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:38 pm

@andrew: what did you make for settings??

i just started community version on every pc and always the same error pops up!
Image http://www.perfectinter.net.tf

andrewmk
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:12 am

Re: revBrowser error

Post by andrewmk » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:22 pm

ernie wrote:@andrew: what did you make for settings??

i just started community version on every pc and always the same error pops up!
It doesn't work in the community version for me either. I just happen to also have a trial version of the previous Livecode (5.5.3) and it works in that.

Andrew

ernie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by ernie » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:29 pm

I just happen to also have a trial version of the previous Livecode (5.5.3) and it works in that.
sry..ive overlooked it..

hmm..its sooo bad..i would like to try it, but doesnt work :(
Image http://www.perfectinter.net.tf

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by sturgis » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:33 pm

Interesting. So looks like its only the revbrowser external that is broke. Don't know how difficult it would be to do a recompile of the external from source but maybe someone with windows or more ability than me can get it done. (or locate the issue) Glad its not ALL externals!

Will post some info about this to the use list and see if anyone has a solution.

ernie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by ernie » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:21 pm

nice..thanks

hope it will be solved soon :)
Image http://www.perfectinter.net.tf

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7215
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: revBrowser error

Post by jacque » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:50 pm

If I remember right, it's a known bug in version 6 and has been reported to the LiveCode team.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: revBrowser error

Post by sturgis » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:04 pm

thx jacque

Post Reply

Return to “Internet”