Standalone built successfully but crash

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
xApple
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Geneva

Standalone built successfully but crash

Post by xApple » Sat Jan 19, 2008 2:56 am

Hello,
A strange thing happened when I completed my last project with Revolution today. After a week of work, I finally build a standalone of my stack to post on my website; Revolution announces me that the "Standalone was built successfully", but upon launching the resulting application, it immediately crashes (bounces once or twice in the dock and disappears).

I have no idea where this is coming from. I am using Revolution 2.8.1-gm-3 and Mac OS X 10.5.1 (Haven't tried the binary for Windows yet).

You can get the .rev source file and the binary from this location:
http://homepage.mac.com/xapple/Projects/SeePoints/

Any ideas ? Suggestions ? Thanks in advance.

paul_gr
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Blenheim, New Zealand

Post by paul_gr » Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:20 am

Hi xApple,

The windows binary fails (on XP) with

"Initialization Error"
"Can't open file (path to file), error was 0,9"

I compiled your src, just had to fix one of those mac >> windows src errors;
changing a "square box" character to an = sign in one if statement.
The exe I compiled opened ok.

Paul

xApple
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Geneva

Post by xApple » Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Hmm... so this would mean that it's only the RunRev 2.8.1 Mac version that is affected by this inability to build sane executables...
Can anyone try compiling this same source with the Mac version to confirm ?

Though, if I just create a new empty stack, place a button or two in it, the same version of rev that I use does make a good executable...

I guess I should try starting with an empty stack, copy card by card from the current project to the fresh stack, compiling at every step, until the error kicks in, and thus trying to identify the source of the problem...
What tedious work... isn't anyone else having compilation problems ? I can't imagine what can be so special about my stack for it to bug like this.

PS: At what line was the strange equal sign ? I'll change it to an "is".

paul_gr
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Blenheim, New Zealand

Post by paul_gr » Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:44 am

Hi xApple,
this line in playCard10

wait until (the mouseClick) or (the keysDown = empty)

Paul

xApple
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Geneva

Post by xApple » Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:40 pm

OK I see why that character didn't get translated correctly... it was the "≠" or "not equal" sign... replaced it by "is not"...

Well my problem still isn't solved... I first tried simply coping all of my stack script from the current project to a fresh stack: it compiled sanely.

But when I tried furthermore copying all the card of the current project to the fresh stack using the following script, it would crash again on application launch!

Code: Select all

on copyStack
  do merge(format("put [[relativeRef(\"copyOldStackName\")]] into oldStackName"))
  do merge(format("put [[relativeRef(\"copyNewStackName\")]] into newStackName"))
  repeat with x = 1 to the number of cards of stack oldStackName
    copy card x of stack oldStackName to stack newStackName
  end repeat
end copyStack
This is really a strange behavior for Revolution... what can I do ? Should I file a bug ?
Thanks.

xApple
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Geneva

Post by xApple » Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:45 pm

By copying bits by bits of my project and compiling at each step, I have more or less narrowed it down to one button.

I indeed now have a stack, 3K in size, containing one card, and one button only (no scripts) which will not compile correctly!

It is here for you to see:

Code: Select all

go URL "http://homepage.mac.com/xapple/give/TestPoints.rev"
Can anyone see what is wrong here ?
Thanks in advance.

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:09 pm

Hi xApple,

I made a standalone of your almost-empty TestPoints stack and tested it on a PPC and an Intel Mac. No problems found.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

xApple
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Geneva

Post by xApple » Sat Jan 19, 2008 8:23 pm

Well I swear that when I compile that stack it crashes on launch... I tried with an other installation of Revolution on my second Macintosh. Same result.
Maybe you were not using the exact same version as me to make the standalone:

Revolution Studio 2.8.1-gm-3 (build 472) running on a PowerPC G4 and Mac OS X 10.5.1.

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:20 pm

Hi xApple,

Maybe 2.8.1 is not compatible (enough) with Leopard?

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

xApple
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Geneva

Post by xApple » Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:51 pm

Yeah maybe that's it :'(
Well, I guess I will just tell my users to run it with the Player until they fix this...
Thanks for your time !

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”