Quicktime version

Deploying to Mac OS? Ask Mac OS specific questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Quicktime version

Post by conde » Sun Feb 05, 2012 6:58 pm

I implemented a QuickTime detection in a stack. On another machine (iMac 10.6.8.), Quicktime 7 is not installed, the qtversion() tells me 7.6.6 ??

Any idea?

Thanks ... Guera

kdjanz
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB Canada

Re: Quicktime version

Post by kdjanz » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:01 pm

Quicktime is part of the Mac core software set, so is always installed, but it is updated independently - sometimes when iTunes is incremented or for other reasons. The player software is again a separate piece of software that used to be purchased, but now a stripped down version comes with Lion I believe. So when you say that Quicktime 7 is not installed I interpret that to mean that the paid for player is not installed, but looking at the version of numbers tells me that the Quicktime engine is there and is reasonably up to date - my Lion based Macbook Pro gives me a version of 7.7.1.

I bought Quicktime 7 back in the day and have moved it from machine to machine, so in my Apps folder, I have Quicktime Player (the old one) and in the Utilities folder I have Quicktime Player 7 (the Lion version).

Confusing I know, but your Quicktime is there and should work for you.

Kelly

conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Quicktime version

Post by conde » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:29 pm

On all my Macs is QT Pro installed. It was installed with Final Cut or Logic. But on the iMac (Snow Leopard) of my wife QT 7 is not installed. This has nothing to do with the purchase of QTPro. As we know in SL and Lion QT 7 is installed separately in the Utilities folder. QT 7 is definitely not installed on my wife's iMac.

Klaus
Posts: 11274
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Quicktime version

Post by Klaus » Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:08 pm

Hi conde,

since QuickTime is an important part of Mac OS X it is very unlikely that QT is NOT installed on any Mac!

What you mean is probably the QuickTIme PLAYER (which is NOT QuickTime!).
On OS X the default player is (on my current Lion 10.7.3) version 10.1 (501.8 )

"QuickTime Player 7" needs to be installed manually and does not affect "the qtversion"
which also returns 7.7.1 on my Lion installation. So everything is OK on your side!

Hope that clarifies things a bit :)

Best

Klaus

conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Quicktime version

Post by conde » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:11 pm

Hi Klaus,

sorry - I still don't understand.

I come from iShell. All apps developed in iShell absolutely need QT7. My question is: On my developer Mac is QT 7 installed. Everything works in the same way as on a Mac without QT7 ????

... Guera

Klaus
Posts: 11274
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Quicktime version

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:32 pm

Hi Guera,

where do you see that "QT7" is installed on your Mac?
With "the qtversion" in LiveCode?


Best

Klaus

conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Quicktime version

Post by conde » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:47 pm

Hi Klaus,

yes!

... Guera

Klaus
Posts: 11274
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Quicktime version

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:04 pm

Hi Guera,

hm, on my OS X Lion 10.7.3 I get 7.7.1, and you get 7.6.6 on OS X 10.6.8, right?
The actual version number is always the FIRST digit, which is 7 in both cases.

So what exactly is the problem?
Does you stack not run on 10.6.8 with QT 7.6.6?


Best

Klaus

conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Quicktime version

Post by conde » Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:14 pm

Klaus - nochmal:

on my test-Mac (my wife#s iMac) Quicktime 7 is not installed. With "qtVersion()" in a stack I get "7.6.6" ? The problem is: When in SnowLeopard Quicktime 7 is not installed why returns the qtVersion function 7.6.6 ???

Sure the stack is running.

Danke Klaus ... Guera

Klaus
Posts: 11274
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Quicktime version

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:28 pm

Hi Guera,

ok, once again :D

You are obviously mixing "QuickTime" (the mulimedia framework of OS X) with "QuickTime Player 7".
QT Player 7 needs to be installed manually starting with OS X 10.6.x

What Livecode returns with "qtversion()" is the Buildnumber of "QuickTime" NOT the "QuickTime Player 7".
And manually installing this "QuickTime Player 7" does NOT modify/change/extend the Framework "QuickTime"
in any way.

I think the version of QuickTime that comes with OS X 10.6.8 IS in fact 7.6.6 so this might just a little understanding problem 8)


Best

Klaus

P.S.
"About QuickTime Player" -> Version 10.1 (501.8 )
"About QuickTime Player 7" -> Version 7.6.6 (1709)
Even more puzzling :D

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1682
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: Quicktime version

Post by sturgis » Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:32 pm

As has been mentioned, the quicktime framework is integrated into osx. Its just there. The extra tools for quicktime (quicktime pro, quicktime player) may not be installed but the underlying framework is actually part of OSX. Prior to OSX this was not the case.


If you look here.. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QuickTime look at the first sentence in the 'overview' section plus a paragraph or two onward. It explains that the framework is there in osx, but that quicktime player (either the pro version or the free version) are tools that use the quicktime framework. But the framework is there whether you've installed the player or not.

conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Quicktime version

Post by conde » Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:58 pm

What Livecode returns with "qtversion()" is the Buildnumber of "QuickTime" NOT the "QuickTime Player 7".
And manually installing this "QuickTime Player 7" does NOT modify/change/extend the Framework "QuickTime"
in any way.
Okay Klaus - okay I've got it.

Thank you all for your patience.

... Guera

Klaus
Posts: 11274
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Quicktime version

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:00 pm

You're welcome! :D

conde
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Quicktime version

Post by conde » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:11 pm

Hi Klaus - you're very active here and very helpful. As musicians, we know that bass players are always very nice. :D

Liebe Grüße aus dem Wilden Süden

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”