Issues with the IDE

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
kdjanz
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB Canada

Issues with the IDE

Post by kdjanz » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:30 am

All of a sudden, I cannot click on individual items in the Application Browser. I can still call up the Inspector from the menu and then use the arrow to navigate to other items but it certainly isn't as convenient.

I checked the Prefs without seeing anything, then deleted the Prefs file from the Library (I'm on Mac) but no change on restarting.

I'm downloading a new copy of 5.0.2 now and will re-install.

Perhaps in a related vein, I tried to take a snapshot of a group using the message box - copying and pasting the syntax from the dictionary - and got an error:
Message execution error:
Error description: value: error executing expression
Hint: export snapshot from (the rect of group "GPB") with effects to file "tester.jpg" as jpeg

Which is less than helpful to me.

Can anyone be of more help?

Thanks

Kelly

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1682
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: Issues with the IDE

Post by sturgis » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:39 am

For the snapshot part since you're defining a rectangle you have to use the rectangle keyword.

export snapshot from rectangle (the rect of group "GPB") with effects to file "tester.jpg" as jpeg

kdjanz
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB Canada

Re: Issues with the IDE

Post by kdjanz » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:09 am

That's what I tried the iteration before the one I posted. I copied the syntax right out of the dictionary, so I've got to believe that was right.

Anyway, the download is finished so I'll do the reinstall.

Kelly

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1682
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: Issues with the IDE

Post by sturgis » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:24 am

Might try

export snapshot from group "GPB" with effects to file "tester.jpg" as jpeg

kdjanz
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB Canada

Re: Issues with the IDE

Post by kdjanz » Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:57 am

That actually works Sturgis - thanks.

A reinstall seems to have solved the other IDE issues.

Thanks

Kelly

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5138
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Issues with the IDE

Post by jacque » Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:18 pm

I don't know if this was the original problem or not, but sometimes you can be in debugging mode and not notice (for example, you left a breakpoint in a script and forgot about it.) When the script breaks into the debugger, very little else is clickable. It will look like LiveCode is not responding. When that happens the first thing I do is check the open script editor to see if it's in debug mode.

That said, the app browser does respond even in debug mode, so something else may have happened.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

kdjanz
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB Canada

Re: Issues with the IDE

Post by kdjanz » Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:43 pm

Thanks Jacque. I know the issue that you're talking about, but I'm sure that it was something else because the re-install fixed it.

Glad to be working again,

Kelly

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”