revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Bringing the internet highway into your project? Building FTP, HTTP, email, chat or other client solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
acidjazz
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:37 am
Location: Tampa, FL

revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by acidjazz » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:09 am

Hi all. I've got the following identical code that works great on my PC (using Rev Enterprise 4.0.0), but doesn't seem to work at all on OSX (using LiveCode 4.5.1). I realize I've got more than one difference, but any ideas what might be the problem?
- Mark

Code: Select all

global sBrowserId, gCounter

on mouseUp
  put the windowid of this stack into tWinID
   If sBrowserID is not empty then 
      revBrowserClose sBrowserId
   end if
   put "http://www.google.com" into line 1 of weblinks
   put "https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dHhOZ1lubTdsY0EwLVNabUhBeFFfYUE6MQ" into line 2 of weblinks
   put "http://www.pezzolab.org/olivertest.txt" into line 3 of weblinks
   put "http://www.usf.edu" into line 4 of weblinks
   If gCounter < 4 then
      add one to gCounter
   else
      put 1 into gCounter
   end if
   put revBrowserOpen(tWinID,line gCounter of weblinks) into sBrowserId
   revBrowserSet sBrowserId, "showborder","true"
   revBrowserSet sBrowserId, "rect", rect of img "browserimage"
end mouseUp

Klaus
Posts: 13829
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by Klaus » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:20 am

Hi acidjazz,

"...does'nt seem to work..."? Now does it work or does it not work? 8)
Do you get any errors?

I just copy/pasted your script here on my Mac into a new stack, created an image "browserimage"
and saw the GOOGLE page immediately!


Best

Klaus

acidjazz
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:37 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by acidjazz » Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:33 pm

Klaus,

Sorry, I wasn't very clear was I? On OSX the screen is completely blank. I can't tell if the browser was actually created, because you don't see anything (and I believe this is normal) in the application browser. So, I don't know have any clue as to what is happening (or not happening).

I have a student who said that he has not had trouble with this code on his macbook. Is it true that revBrowser only uses Safari? I have Chrome set as my default in osx. Does that matter?

- Mark
Last edited by acidjazz on Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Klaus
Posts: 13829
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by Klaus » Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:02 pm

Hi Mark,

clear or not, your script worked for me, no blank screen :)

You could check "the result" after each setting of a browser prop, maybe that will give you a hint!?

And yes, Rev will always user the Safari framework (WebKit) on the Mac and you cannot change this.
Same on Windows, there the Internet Explorer framework will always be used.


Best

Klaus

acidjazz
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:37 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by acidjazz » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:35 am

So, I have "solved" the problem. It is the bug that you, Klaus, (and others) have already reported.

http://forums.runrev.com/viewtopic.php? ... 72&start=0

My backdrop was turned on, and so I didn't see anything in the browser. When I turned the backdrop off, my browser contents magically appeared. Of course, on my PC I never had the backdrop turned on, so it always worked.

What would I do without this forum!?

- Mark

Klaus
Posts: 13829
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by Klaus » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:03 am

Hi Mark,

ah, yes, there are some serious issues with the "backdrop".
This one definitively needs an overhaul!


Best

Klaus

acidjazz
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:37 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: revBrowser not working on mac, but okay on pc

Post by acidjazz » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:16 pm

I think I may have discovered a related bug. I figured if the backdrop causes problems, I can simply set the fullscreen of the stack to true, and accomplish the same result. But, the same problem happens, despite the fact that the backdrop is not turned on! Oy vey!

Mark

Post Reply

Return to “Internet”