new location for extensions?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, LCMark

Post Reply
mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2742
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

new location for extensions?

Post by mwieder » Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:38 am

LC 9.1dp1 has the builtin extensions in a folder named "packaged_extensions" instead of "Extensions".
Is this an anomaly or should I count of this being the case moving forward?

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by richmond62 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:47 pm

LC 9.1dp1
Presumably you built this from source?

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2742
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by mwieder » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:04 pm

Hmmm... I'm getting the distinct impression that this is no longer the place to try to get answers.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6597
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:44 am

mwieder wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:04 pm
Hmmm... I'm getting the distinct impression that this is no longer the place to try to get answers.
In lieu of emoticons: ::laughing face:: ::sad face::
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

LCMark
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27 am

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by LCMark » Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:25 am

@mwieder: As far as I'm aware the 9.1-dp-1 (when it appears) won't change anything in regards to where things are stored in a built/deployed distribution. When you build from source, it isn't quite the same though - the extensions are built into packaged_extensions (they always have been) and then the installer scripts build the deployed app and such based on the instructions in Installers/package.txt in the engine repository (which places the to-be-included extensions from packaged_extensions in Extensions).

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by richmond62 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:43 am

When you build from source, it isn't quite the same
That's what my wife and I discovered when we decided to have children. 8)
this is no longer the place to try to get answers
Well, that all depends on your asking the right questions in the first place.

bogs
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by bogs » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:55 pm

FourthWorld wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:44 am
mwieder wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:04 pm
Hmmm... I'm getting the distinct impression that this is no longer the place to try to get answers.
In lieu of emoticons: ::laughing face:: ::sad face::
I would have answered, had it not been far and away beyond my level of knowledge Image
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2742
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by mwieder » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:14 pm

LCMark- thanks for the details. That clears things up. I nonetheless had to adjust some PowerTools code to account for the fact that in my local build I wasn't seeing the builtin extensions, but it's good to know that things will keep on working the way they have in release versions.

bogs- given that, thanks for not answering. :D

Klaus
Posts: 10917
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by Klaus » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:33 pm

bogs wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:55 pm
I would have answered, had it not been far and away beyond my level of knowledge Image
Noone really reproaches you, bogs! 8)

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by richmond62 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:40 pm

We all know who is being reproached here. 8)

bogs
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by bogs » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:45 pm

mwieder wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:14 pm
bogs- given that, thanks for not answering. :D
Klaus wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:33 pm
Noone really reproaches you, bogs! 8)
I do, I keep thinking how far behind the curve I still am and reproach myself daily, but I do thank you all for cutting me so much slack :D :D
Image

LCMark
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27 am

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by LCMark » Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:30 am

@mwieder: You might want to use this instead - revEnvironmentExtensionsPath() :)

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by richmond62 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:13 am

revEnvironmentExtensionsPath()
Will that make sure everything is in the right place, regardless of whether a build is
a release one or not?

bogs
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by bogs » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:38 pm

FourthWorld wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:44 am
In lieu of emoticons: ::laughing face:: ::sad face::
As a consolation...erm, prize I guess, I took some time to make the emoticons for tragedy/comedy :wink:
Image
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2742
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: new location for extensions?

Post by mwieder » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:58 am

LCMark-

Doh! :roll: I was trying to avoid that in order to maintain backward compatibility, but it finally :shock: sank in that for earlier versions we wouldn't have extensions anyway, so I'm good with that. Thanks for the jolt of reality. All I need to do is wrap it in a try clause and it's taken care of

Code: Select all

try
  put revEnvironmentExtensionsPath() into tPath
catch e
end try
if tPath is not empty then ...

Post Reply

Return to “Engine Contributors”