HTML5 Active Development?

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
allengwinn
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:46 pm

HTML5 Active Development?

Post by allengwinn » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:50 pm

I am building a mobile app for my University (I'm now a professor, fired from my previous job in academic technology--proving that just because you get fired from a job at a University it doesn't necessarily mean you can stop doing your old job!). I decided to just play with HTML5 and after about 10 minutes I had the app fully deployed on a website (Livecode hosting of all places!). Super cool and super trivial to deploy.

Might I suggest, to whoever is working on it, focusing on app scaling in mobile browsers (Safari, Chrome and Firefox)? This would be a great way to show off Alpha and Beta versions of apps under development. It would certainly be a great alternative to the m******bation you have to go through just to get an app deployed on Testflight.

It might be nice to have "the environment" be "html5" instead of "standalone application" as well.

bogs
Posts: 3545
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by bogs » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:09 pm

That is an interesting idea.
Image

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5038
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by jacque » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:27 pm

It might be nice to have "the environment" be "html5" instead of "standalone application" as well.
The "platform" function will give you that at least.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by [-hh] » Tue Jan 01, 2019 7:56 pm

It is great that you join the "HTML5-community".
allengwin wrote:Might I suggest, to whoever is working on it, focusing on app scaling in mobile browsers (Safari, Chrome and Firefox)
This would lead to focus on the worst part of the HTML5 standalone builder, which isn't ready for mobile.
We also don't have all desktop HTML5/JavaScript handlers available in the mobile browsers (see https://caniuse.com ).

I don't know of any "Emscripten app" (like the LC-HTML 5 standalone builder) that runs on mobile with more than 'Hello world'-examples.
shiftLock happens

allengwinn
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by allengwinn » Mon Jan 07, 2019 3:35 pm

I can see tons of potential here. I need to write a few more "regular" apps and get comfortable with the platform. I'll also say that I was fairly impressed with what I saw. There were bugs but it wasn't unusable.

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by [-hh] » Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:21 pm

allengwinn wrote:There were bugs but it wasn't unusable.
Which bugs? Or were these missing features only?
If you tested something to be a bug then please write to LC QCC ( https://quality.livecode.com ).
Or please post in Bug Triage ( viewforum.php?f=104 ).
shiftLock happens

allengwinn
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by allengwinn » Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:39 pm

Ahh... "bugs" v "features" :) .... you can't reproduce all the components in an app. Let me get things finalized maybe today or tomorrow and I'll push the final thing to the webserver and let you know.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6713
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by FourthWorld » Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:30 pm

jacque wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:27 pm
It might be nice to have "the environment" be "html5" instead of "standalone application" as well.
The "platform" function will give you that at least.
Is "html5" now one of the returned strings? I'd hate to see one locked in with an HTML version number, was kinda hoping they'd repurpose the older "browser" string.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

allengwinn
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: HTML5 Active Development?

Post by allengwinn » Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:43 pm

Currently the environment is "standalone application" and the platform is "HTML5" and the machine is empty.

Post Reply

Return to “HTML5”