Exporting standalone

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by sphere » Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:58 am

As far as i know you need to use JAVA jdk 1.8.x not 1.9.x.

It should not matter if you use the commandline Android SDK or Android studio SDK.
But in both cases you need to download/install the minimum 4.03 SDK and API 26.

So please deinstall the Java 1.9.x, reboot and then install the 1.8.x version. Im using the 64bit version of JAVA so also that should not matter if it is 32 or 64 bit.

Quinton B.
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:13 am

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by Quinton B. » Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:14 pm

Cool beans. If you could do that, it would be great.

AxWald
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by AxWald » Sun Oct 21, 2018 3:59 pm

Hi,

confirming that 9.0.1 /Win 10-64 does compile for Android (haven't tested the resulting apk though).

Using the SDK Manager 24.4.1 (SDK path: D:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk) and 64bit Java 1.8_144 (JDK Path: D:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.8.0_144) here.

Hope this helps, have fun!
All code published by me here was created with Community Editions of LC (thus is GPLv3).
If you use it in closed source projects, or for the Apple AppStore, or with XCode
you'll violate some license terms - read your relevant EULAs & Licenses!

SparkOut
Posts: 2839
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by SparkOut » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:07 pm

I have not tried on my new laptop since getting it a couple of months ago, but I did begin to install some things to catch up again.

Android Studio 3.1.4 with the SDK settings selected inside Studio.

Java JDK 1.8.0_181

I don't know what happened for the JDK to show as amd64 for the 181 version, it's all Intel on the laptop.
Android_Win_Deploy_info_1.jpg
Android_Win_Deploy_info_2.jpg
Android_Win_Deploy_info_3.jpg

SparkOut
Posts: 2839
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by SparkOut » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:08 pm

I don't know what happened for the JDK to show as amd64 for the 181 version, it's all Intel on the laptop.
It seems to work happily enough with Java v10 installed.

Are you sure you downloaded the JDK, not just the JRE?
Android_Win_Deploy_info_4.jpg

Quinton B.
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:13 am

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by Quinton B. » Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:06 am

Here is Some more pictures, I've tried your setup. It didn't work.
Attachments
4.png
2.png
1.png

Quinton B.
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:13 am

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by Quinton B. » Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:07 am

Here is some more.
Attachments
7.png
7.png (10.43 KiB) Viewed 7503 times
6..png
5.png

SparkOut
Posts: 2839
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by SparkOut » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:47 am

I don't know what is wrong, sorry. It clearly *can* work generally, but something specific to your setup is preventing it. I can't think of anything sensible to determine how to fix it. :(

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by sphere » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:24 am

I have the exact setup.
IS there a way to post screenshots from the error messages you're getting?
What happens when you click on Create Standalone?
Normally you have to select a folder where you want to have it put, but what happens after that exactly?

are you able to test directly on a real device when connected to USB?
With some error messages i have to scroll down in the message to see the clue in the error message.

AxWald
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by AxWald » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:32 pm

Hi,

Isn't it required to have Android 2.1 and/or 2.2 (API 7/ 8) installed? Not sure about it - yet I have, and it works.

Have fun!
All code published by me here was created with Community Editions of LC (thus is GPLv3).
If you use it in closed source projects, or for the Apple AppStore, or with XCode
you'll violate some license terms - read your relevant EULAs & Licenses!

Quinton B.
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:13 am

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by Quinton B. » Wed Oct 24, 2018 2:10 am

The error is as follows: "There was an error while saving the standalone application could not compile service support class".
A path where the standalone would be saved is set to the desktop.
I've tried deploying to a live device, and creating a standalone apk for Android. I have not attempted IOS yet.
I'm just trying to get Android running first.

SparkOut
Posts: 2839
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by SparkOut » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:48 am

You realise you can only build iOS apps on a Mac? (Unless you do some fancy jiggery-pokery to run the Apple SDK in a virtual environment, which is technically feasible I heard, but tricky and against the rules.)

AxWald
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by AxWald » Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:54 am

Hi,
SparkOut wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:48 am
You realise you can only build iOS apps on a Mac?
Really? Oh oh.

Found something other here:
"Identifier" in "Standalone settings/ Android" is picky in what it accepts -
"com.itis-me.myapp" results in this error, "com.itisme.myapp" works ...

And if we're here anyways, make sure "Version Code" is an integer - "1.0" will throw another error ...

Have fun!
All code published by me here was created with Community Editions of LC (thus is GPLv3).
If you use it in closed source projects, or for the Apple AppStore, or with XCode
you'll violate some license terms - read your relevant EULAs & Licenses!

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by sphere » Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:18 am

AxWald wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:32 pm
Hi,

Isn't it required to have Android 2.1 and/or 2.2 (API 7/ 8) installed? Not sure about it - yet I have, and it works.

Have fun!
Not anymre but you need 4.03 installed as minimum.

@ Quint i see on the screenshots that you also have the JRE installed next to the JDK. Maybe it's biting each other.
Can you remove the JRE and adjust your windows environment PATH setting so that you add the folder of the Java JDK
Then reboot, maybe it helps.

If you are able to test a stack via the test button in the IDE, after you've set your real device as test target under development in the menu, then you should be able to create an APK too.

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Exporting standalone

Post by sphere » Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:53 am

AxWald wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:54 am

"com.itis-me.myapp" results in this error, "com.itisme.myapp" works ...

And if we're here anyways, make sure "Version Code" is an integer - "1.0" will throw another error ...
Yes also true, you can not have a - in the name (although some characters should be possible like -)

Version Code is important for uploading to Google PlayStore, for every update to the store you need to increase this with an integer. Independent of your own version nr.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”