Blank screen on ios12 beta

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
brotee
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:15 am

Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by brotee » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:42 am

every app i made in LC is blank on ios 12 beta, i know it's beta, but App store rejected an app cause it launches with black screen.

i afraid of ios12 if all of my apps will be blank screen.

what can be the problem?

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:49 am

Hello brotee,

We are aware of this issue, and we are currently investigating.

You can add your email to the cc list of this bug report

https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=21396

so as you get a notification when the status of this report changes.

Best,
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Hi @panos, today I updated my iPhone to iOS12 and got the blank screen so I've installed LC 9.0.1 but I'm getting many errors when trying to make a stand alone file.

Please see below a few screen captures (there are many of them) hoping it would be enough for you to guide me on how to proceed.

Many thanks in advance
win1.jpeg
win2.jpeg
win3.jpeg
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:36 am

Hello Simon,

A rough guess is that all these errors are caused because the version of the command line tools that are used does not match the version of Xcode. To check that:

1. Open the version of Xcode you used when trying to build the standalone. Say it is version X.Y.
2. In Xcode's menubar, go to Xcode -> Preferences -> Locations
3. In the "Command Line Tools" dropdown, choose version X.Y
4. Quit LC and restart it, and try to build again an iOS standalone.

Hope this helps.
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi Panos, many thanks for your prompt and enlightening answer.

Good news: I was able to compile.

Bad news: it doesn't install (it seems I'm doing something wrong regarding Xcode relationship with my iPhone 6 but can't identify how to fix it)

xc1.jpeg
xc2.jpeg
Looking forward for your answer.

Cheers
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:31 pm

Hello Simon,

Hmm, what version of Xcode do you use to build the standalone? Could you also post a screenshot of the iOS standalone application settings?

Kind regards,
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:52 pm

Hi Panos, here it goes:
p1.jpeg
p2.jpeg
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:00 pm

Hi Panos I removed the "Build 32 bit slice only" and it installed OK.

Funny think is that at first I wasn't able to see the Icon on the iPhone Screen but if I search for the App it is there and runs OK....

After a Power Off / Power On on the iPhone the Icon appeared on the screen...

Who knows...

Thanks for your support
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:58 am

Hello Simon,

Thanks for the follow up. I am glad you found the culprit. Yes, starting from iOS 11 if I remember correctly, your app *must* contain a 64bit slice.

Kind regards,
Panos

--

iphonesupport123
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by iphonesupport123 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:32 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:58 am
Hello Simon,

Thanks for the follow up. I am glad you found the culprit. Yes, starting from iOS 11 if I remember correctly, your app *must* contain a 64bit slice.

Kind regards,
Panos

--
Yes, I also got the same things by follow your instruction I am recently got the IOS 12 and then I want to some important application that's I am not able to do this I follow the iPhone Support Number for the help but I have still a problem.

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”