cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5625
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by dunbarx » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:30 pm

Richmond.

Just do what all Americans think and do.

Expect that everyone should learn idiomatic English. We refuse to learn any other language.

Craig

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by bogs » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:09 am

dunbarx wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:12 pm
Bogs.
LC cannot do what you imply in your handler. You cannot even determine the case of, say, the first char of the name of a control, since the caseSensitive property does not hold in that arena.

You must find another reference to work with. Richmond needs to rename his images.
Is the dictionary correct that custom props can be judged by case? If I read it correctly, then that would be a reference that would work instead of the variable I used.

I assumed (sad, I know) that for some reason case would apply to text in a variable, but even though the variable has the right text in it, I guess case sensitivity does not work there (in a variable)?
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:13 am

insensitivity has been normal
Hmm.
Expect that everyone should learn idiomatic English.
Well, that be fine by me, but I bain't sure that those Americans talk English; mayholp they
talk American.

AND, if one wants to be really bitchy I have always wondered why
the LiveCode people are unable to spell things such as COLOUR in English. Edinburgh, last time I looked, was in Scotland, not just off the coast of Rhode Island. 8)

When I was over in the American territories for my son's graduation I picked up this:
-
dic.jpeg
dic.jpeg (7.03 KiB) Viewed 728 times
-
have been working my way through Webster's fascinating introduction ever since: lovely book. :)

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5625
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by dunbarx » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:42 pm

Bogs wrote:
Is the dictionary correct that custom props can be judged by case? If I read it correctly, then that would be a reference that would work instead of the variable I used.
How would that work? For example, one cannot have two custom properties in the same control such as:
"A" and "a".

LC will not accept both, since it believes that if one already has "A", then one cannot also have "a". It believes these are one and the same. For custom props, LC is case-blind

Craig

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by jacque » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:16 pm

On the teaching front, especially as I teach kids who, on a day to day basis, use
a non-Latin alphabet, explaining to them that LiveCode
is unable to differentiate between images called "abc" and "ABC",
but CAN differentiate between images called "щюя" and "ЩЮЯ" is a bit of a headache.
That made me wonder. The example uses unicode where every letter has a different code. The first 128 chars of the unicode tables are ascii which are treated differently in LC, possibly to retain backward compatibility. I wonder if you'd get the results you want by specifying the button names as unicode text. Don't ask me how, I've never had to worry about it.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:04 pm

notGood.png

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:06 pm

I wonder if you'd get the results you want by specifying the button names as unicode text.
That is certainly a thought; however that won't affect teaching kids who find it hard to understand why a capital letter in the Bulgarian alphabet is treated differently to its lower case equivalent while that does not hod true with the Latin ("English") alphabet.

Klaus
Posts: 10477
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by Klaus » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:17 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:04 pm
notGood.png
A is a reserved word -> if there is A file...

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:42 pm

notGood2.png

Klaus
Posts: 10477
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by Klaus » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:47 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:42 pm
notGood2.png
Oh, sorry, my fault, took a while.
Wrong syntax, you cannot PUT something into a custom property, this has to be SET!

Code: Select all

...
set the x of img "fishy" to "Cheese"
...
So this will also work with -> the A of img "fishy"

Nevertheless is A a reserved word :D

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:27 pm

Wrong syntax
Ouch. 8)

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by bogs » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:33 pm

dunbarx wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:42 pm
Bogs wrote:
. Is the dictionary correct that custom props can be judged by case? If I read it correctly, then that would be a reference that would work instead of the variable I used.
. How would that work? For example, one cannot have two custom properties in the same control such as:
"A" and "a".
. LC will not accept both, since it believes that if one already has "A", then one cannot also have "a". It believes these are one and the same. For custom props, LC is case-blind
That isn't what the dictionary says -
The caseSensitive also affects custom property names and array key names. If the caseSensitive is true, custom property names that differ only in the case of their letters are treated as different custom properties. If the caseSensitive is false, custom property names that differ only in letter case cannot be distinguished from each other. The same is true for the keys of array elements.
Apparently, you can have for instance cpropa and cpropA, and they would be completely different as long as caseSensitive is set to true. Again, unless I am completely missing some key distinction. According to the above, you could also do it by array key name, although using a cp seems a bit more direct.

And I still am curious as to the variable not reporting as a string, which case sensitive should work with.
Image

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5625
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by dunbarx » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:50 pm

Hmmm.

Have to check this out. I simply tried to set two custom props from the inspector in a button, "A", and "a". After setting "A", I was prevented from creating "a" at all. The property inspector made the second process disappear.

I did not try to do it under script control. Hmmm....

Craig
Last edited by dunbarx on Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5625
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by dunbarx » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:56 pm

Nope.

Tried it from script. LC will WILL permit "X" and "x" to live in the same control, but they cannot seem to have different values.

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   set the caseSensitive to "true"
   
   set the "X" of btn 1 to "upper"
   set the "x" of btn 1 to "lower"
end mouseUp
Both properties now exist, but both have the value "upper".

Maybe because it came first?

Craig

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: cAPITAL lETTER pROBLEM

Post by bogs » Fri Jul 20, 2018 6:30 am

I'll look into it tomorrow if I find the time. Either that, or maybe Panos will stop by to elucidate this for us :D
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”